Skip to main content Skip to footer

Marshall Earns NCAA Athletics Certification

May 14, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS - Marshall University's athletic department has been fully certified by the NCAA Division I Committee on Athletics Certification. The committee announced decisions concerning the certification status of Marshall and 45 other Division I member institutions that have undergone the Association's second cycle of athletics certification.

The purpose of athletics certification is to ensure integrity in the institution's athletics program and to assist institutions in improving their athletics departments. NCAA legislation mandating athletics certification was adopted in 1993.

The certification process, which involves a self-study led by an institution's president or chancellor, includes a review of these primary components: governance and commitment to rules compliance; academic integrity; equity; and student-athlete well-being.

A designation of certified means that an institution operates its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the Division I membership.

The following 41 institutions were certified:

•	Auburn University
•	Brown University
•	University of California, Berkeley
•	California Polytechnic State University
•	California State University, Fullerton
•	California State University, Sacramento
•	Central Michigan University
•	University of Cincinnati
•	Colgate University
•	University of Detroit Mercy
•	Drake University
•	Fairfield University
•	University of Florida
•	Florida State University
•	Furman University
•	Gardner-Webb University
•	University of Hartford
•	Harvard University
•	University of Iowa
•	Jackson State University
•	Jacksonville University
•	Lehigh University
•	Liberty University
•	University of Maine, Orono
•	Marshall University
•	University of Massachusetts, Amherst
•	Mount St. Mary's University
•	University of Nebraska, Lincoln
•	University of New Hampshire
•	University of North Texas
•	Oral Roberts University
•	University of Oregon
•	University of the Pacific
•	University of Pittsburgh
•	University of Portland
•	Quinnipiac University
•	Syracuse University
•	Texas A&M University, College Station
•	University of Tulsa
•	University of Vermont
•	Youngstown State University

In addition, five Division I institutions were certified with conditions: • University of Houston • James Madison University • New Mexico State University • Robert Morris University • St. Peter's College

This classification means that the institution is considered to be operating its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the NCAA's Division I membership. However, problems identified during the course of the institution's self-study and the peer-review team's evaluation were considered serious enough by the Committee on Athletics Certification to cause it to withhold full certification until those problems have been corrected. The NCAA does not divulge specific information related to an institution's self-study or peer-review visit or specific information concerning the conditions set forth for certification.

The second round of athletics certifications is being completed on a 10-year cycle rather than the five-year cycle used during the initial certification process. All 326 active Division I members participate in the certification process.

The Division I Committee on Athletics Certification preliminarily reviews an institution's certification materials and provides a list of issues identified during the evaluation. The university then hosts a visit by peer reviewers who file a report regarding the institution's resolution of those issues before a final certification decision is rendered. An institution's failure to satisfactorily respond to the committee may negatively impact certification status.

The certification process is separate from the NCAA's enforcement program, which investigates allegations of rules violations by NCAA member institutions. A decision of certified does not exempt an institution from concurrent or subsequent enforcement proceedings. The NCAA Committee on Infractions may ask the Committee on Athletics Certification to review an institution's certification status as a result of the completed infractions case.

The members of the Committee on Athletics Certification are: McKinley Boston Jr., New Mexico State University; Shonna Brown, Mid-American Conference; Rita Hartung Cheng, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; Beatrice Crane Banford, Marshall University; Rich Ensor, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference; Kevin Hatcher, Colgate University; Gerald M. Lage, Oklahoma State University; Leo Lambert (chair), Elon University; M. Dianne Murphy, Columbia University-Barnard College; Gloria Nevarez, West Coast Conference; Donald Pope-Davis, University of Notre Dame; Allison Rich, California State University, Fullerton; Mary Ann Rohleder, Indiana University, Bloomington; Greg Sankey, Southeastern Conference; and Jon Steinbrecher, Ohio Valley Conference.