Skip to main content Skip to footer

Marshall Men Win Evansville Invitational

Next up for Marshall is the C-USA Championships, Nov. 2

Oct. 19, 2013

Men's Results | Women's Results

EVANSVILLE, Ind. - In the final meet of the regular season, the Marshall men's cross country team finished first at the Evansville Invitational, while the women finished fourth as a team on Saturday at UE Cross Country Course.

"Our boys ran their best race of the year. Jack Whitney and Caleb Bowen had great days, but the key to the victory was strong performances by William Hayes, Will Shaffer and Tyler Salmons," coach Jeff Small said. "Our girls struggled today with some subpar performances by our usual leaders. The bright spots were the performances of Andrea Porter and Lauren Bartoldson."

Competing in the meet for the sixth consecutive season, the Thundering Herd had a strong showing with the men's and women's fields having been made up of a total of 16 teams.

For the fourth consecutive meet of the season, senior Jack Whitney (Ripley, W.Va.) recorded the highest finish among Marshall runners. Whitney finished fourth in the 8k men's race in a time of 25:54.09. Junior Caleb Bowen (Hurricane, W.Va.) recorded a ninth place result in 26:13.60 to give the Herd two top-10 finishers.

On the women's side, freshman Andrea Porter (Pt. Pleasant, W.Va.) led Marshall with a time of 19:52.54 to finish 22nd overall in a field of 80 runners. Junior Lauren Bartoldson (Martinsburg, W.Va.) came in 29th in the 5k as the second-best finisher for the Marshall women in 20:00.64.

With the regular season now complete, Marshall will have two weeks to prepare for the Conference USA Championships, set for Saturday, Nov. 2, in Denton, Texas. The event will be hosted by C-USA newcomer North Texas.

Results and a recap from the championships will be available at and on Twitter (@HerdTFXC).

Evansville Invitational - Marshall Individual Finishers
4. Jack Whitney - 24:54.09
9. Caleb Bowen - 26:13.60
12. William Hayes - 26:37.15
13. William Shaffer - 26:44.46
16. Tyler Salmons - 27:01.84
31. Adam Frohnapfel - 27:55.93
35. Jordan Brown-Stobbe - 28:12.15
38. Drake Seccurro - 28:35.00

22. Andrea Porter - 19:52.54
29. Lauren Bartoldson - 20:00.64
30. Celia Leonard - 20:07.54
32. Sammantha Stroker - 20:11.15
34. Julia Galloway - 20:13.95
37. Alexandra Phares - 20:27.55
43. Molly Miloscia - 20:57.34
52. Amber Govey - 21:37.09
53. Whitney Lewis - 21:39.12
55. Michaele Morgan - 21:43.71
63. Zoe Leonard - 22:34.32