Skip to main content Skip to footer

Green and White World Series to Begin Saturday

The best-of-seven set will begin with three games this weekend

Oct. 17, 2013

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – The Marshall baseball team will begin its annual fall Green and White World Series, with a doubleheader Saturday at 11 a.m. for the first two games of the best-of-seven slate. Managing the green team will be coach Jeff Waggoner, with assistant coach Brian Karlet to lead the white team in the series.

Game three will be a seven-inning contest that will take place on Sunday with first pitch set for 11 a.m. The remainder of the series will take place over the following weekend with the dates and times to be announced.

A pair of upperclassmen will get the start in the opening game on Saturday as senior rightly Josh King (Troup, Ga.) will face right-handed junior Matt Margaritonda (Freehold, N.J.). In Game 2, Thundering Herd senior Kyle Kessler (Matthews, N.C.) will start on the mound for the white team against sophomore Alex Thackston (Proctorville, Ohio).

For the third game of the series, Waggoner will have sophomore hurler Michael Taylor (St. Albans, W.Va.) square off against junior transfer righty Clint Wilson (Austin, Texas).

Green and White World Series Probable Pitchers:
Game 1: Josh King vs. Matt Margaritonda – Saturday (11 a.m.)
Game 2: Kyle Kessler vs. Alex Thackston – Saturday (At the conclusion of Game 1)
Game 3: Michael Taylor vs. Clint Wilson – Sunday (11 a.m.)



White Team (Karlet) Roster:
OF – Chase Vogelbach – SO
OF – Mardu Smith – JR
INF – Sergio Leon – JR
OF – Cory Garrastazu – FR
INF – Brandon Romero – FR
C – Johnathan Beary – SR
C – David Diaz-Fernandez – SO
INF – Andrew Dundon – JR
INF – Spencer Iacovone – FR
RHP – Josh King – SR
RHP – Kyle Kessler – RS JR
RHP – Michael Taylor – SO
RHP – Kolin Stanley – RS-JR
RHP – Brandyn Sittinger – SO
LHP – Zachary Shockley – SO
LHP – Sam Hunter – SO
RHP – Lance Elder – RS-SO
RHP – Drew Laurence – FR

Green Team (Waggoner) Roster:
OF – Robert Fajardo – RS SO
C/IF/OF – Travis Myers – SO
OF – Eric Escobedo – JR
OF – Corey Bird – FR
C – Matt Reed – SO
C – Travis Wildermuth – FR
INF – Aaron Bossi – SO
INF – TJ Diffenderfer – JR
OF – Brenden Wells – FR
LHP – Micah Dunn – SO
RHP – Matt Margaritonda – JR
LHP – Alex Thackston – SO
RHP – Ryan Hopkins – SR
RHP – Chase Boster – SO
RHP – Ryan Bickford – FR
RHP – Keanu Ramos – JR
LHP – Roscoe Blackburn – FR
LHP – Caleb Ross – SO
RHP – Clint Wilson – JR

For more information of Marshall baseball, follow @HerdBaseball on Twitter or visit