Loop, Elmore Receive C-USA All-Academic Awards

March 3, 2017

IRVING, Texas – Marshall guards Austin Loop (South Webster, Ohio) and Jon Elmore (Charleston, W.Va.) were named to the 2016-17 Conference USA Men’s Basketball All-Academic Team, the league announced Friday.

“Loop and Elmore are examples of what we are trying to do at Marshall,” head coach Dan D’Antoni said. “They are successful both on and off the court. I’m proud of the work they’ve put in and they’ve been rewarded for it.”

Loop is the first player in program history to earn the honor in three consecutive years, while Elmore is the second player in school history to earn the honor multiple times.

The C-USA All-Academic Team consists of five players, not to be limited by position. Nominees must have a 3.2 cumulative grade point average and be a regular participant for their team. Candidates should be a sophomore by class standing, but redshirt freshmen are eligible if they have completed enough credits.

Elmore, a junior, leads the league in points (20.3) and assists (6.3). He has seven 10-assist games and seven double-doubles. Loop, a senior, is the program’s all-time 3-point leader with 275 made threes in his career.

NAME                                  SCHOOL                       YEAR               GPA          MAJOR
Gerdarius Troutman          Florida Atlantic           Junior              3.75         Communication Studies
*Jon Elmore                        Marshall                      Junior              3.60         Communication Studies/Public Communications
*Austin Loop                      Marshall                      Senior             3.69         Biomechanics/Clinical Exercise Psychology
Edward Simpson                Middle Tennessee      Junior              3.68         Mechatronics Engineering
Marcus Jackson                  Rice                               Senior             3.32         Sports Management
Lucas O’Brien                      UTSA                            Grad                3.50         MBA

Up next, the Herd will host North Texas to close out the regular season at the Cam Henderson Center. It will also be senior night for Loop, Ryan Taylor (Indianapolis) and Stevie Browning (Logan, W.Va.).

For the latest information about Marshall Athletics, follow @HerdZone on Twitter.