Skip to main content Skip to footer

Kane Named Marshall's Most Outstanding Player

The team received these special watches for its NIT participation.

April 14, 2012

Final Game Notes Get Acrobat Reader

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. - Over 200 people attended the Marshall men's basketball awards banquet Saturday held on campus at the Erickson Alumni Center.

The event, hosted by WSAZ's Keith Morehouse, included a highlight video, comments from the senior players, remarks from head coach Tom Herrionand presentation of the team awards. The night was a celebration of an impressive season for the Thundering Herd which finished with a 21-14 record and earned a berth to the National Invitation Tournament for the first time in 24 seasons. For their participation in the NIT, the players were presented with a silver watch with the NIT logo in the center.

Sophomore guard DeAndre Kanetook home the Hal Greer Most Outstanding Player Award. Kane led the team with 16.5 points per game and was a member of the All-Conference USA Second Team as well as the NABC All-District 11 First Team.

The Mike D'Antoni Mr. Marshall Award was given to junior forward Dennis Tinnon. He was one of 21 NCAA Division I players to average a double-double with 10.2 points and 10.0 rebounds per game. Tinnon's rebounding average ranked 22nd in the country and his 349 total rebounds was the eighth-best single season total in school history.

The Greg White Playmaker Award was given to senior guard Damier Pitts. The All-Conference USA Third Team performer averaged 14.7 points and led the Herd with 4.3 assists per game.

The Charlie Slack Most Outstanding Defensive Player Award was given to senior guard Shaquille Johnson. Marshall's all-time leader in games played averaged 9.2 points and 3.5 rebounds per game.

The Tamar Slay Sixth Man Award was given to junior forward Nigel Spikes. After missing the first six games of the season with a knee injury, Spikes averaged 4.1 points and 4.8 rebounds in just 16.7 minutes per game the remainder of the year.

The J.R. VanHoose Coach's Award went to freshman Chris Martinand sophomore center Yous Mbao. Martin and Mbao each embodied the award as someone who gave all-out effort every day in practice.

The Leo Byrd Most Improved Player Award went to freshmen DeVince Boykins and Jamir Hanner. Boykins redshirted the season, but showed improvement in practice. Hanner averaged 1.8 points and 2.4 rebounds while playing in 5.3 minutes per game. Earlier in the month, Hanner was named to the C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll for having a GPA over 3.0.

In honor of eclipsing the 1,000 point plateau, Johnson and Kane were each presented with a special Marshall basketball. At the end of the evening, Johnson and fellow senior Dago Penathanked the crowd for their four years at Marshall. Pitts was out of town and unable to attend.

For a list of all the team accomplishments this season, click here

Team Awards
DeAndre Kane - Hal Greer Most Oustanding Player Award
Damier Pitts - Greg White Playmaker Award
Dennis Tinnon - Mike D'Antoni Mr. Marshall Award
Shaquille Johnson - Charlie Slack Most Outstanding Defensive Player Award
Nigel Spikes - Tamar Slay Sixth Man Award
Chris Martin, Yous Mbao - J.R. VanHoose Coach's Award
DeVince Boykins, Jamir Hanner - Leo Byrd Most Improved Player Award