Marshall Announces 2008 Football Schedule


Cody Slate and the Thundering Herd will face nine bowl teams in 2008

Cody Slate and the Thundering Herd will face nine bowl teams in 2008

Feb. 26, 2008

Huntington, W.Va. - Marshall University Director of Athletics Bob Marcum announced the Thundering Herd's 2008 football schedule Tuesday, which includes six home games and contests against nine opponents who appeared in bowl games a year ago. In addition, two Marshall home games will be broadcast nationally by ESPN.

"We have six home games and for the first time we have five opponents coming to Huntington who played in bowl games a year ago. I think that is exciting for not only our fans, but our program as a whole," Marcum said. "The overall strength of this schedule also leads to national television opportunities for our program at home and that exposure is a big plus."

Five teams that appeared in bowls a year ago will travel to Huntington this season and two of those home games are already slated for national television. Games with Big East member Cincinnati on Friday, October 4th and a Tuesday, October 28 meeting with Houston will be televised by ESPN. The Thundering Herd's home schedule also includes dates with Memphis on Sept. 13, defending C-USA Champion UCF on Nov. 15 and Tulsa on Nov. 29. All three advanced to bowls last season.

The Thundering Herd will open the season at home with Illinois State on Saturday, August 30, before traveling to Big 10 power Wisconsin on September 6th. Marshall will face 2008 Fiesta Bowl Champion West Virginia in the latest edition of the Friends of Coal Bowl in Morgantown on Saturday, September 27, following the home contest with Memphis on the 13th and a C-USA road test at Southern Miss on Sept 20th. Marshall will also travel to UAB on Oct. 18, East Carolina on Nov. 8 and to Rice on Nov. 22 in conference play.

"This is a challenging schedule from top to bottom," Marshall Head Coach Mark Snyder said. "With that said, I like the way the games fall and I think our fans and players are excited about the challenge. We are going to have to be ready to play every week."

 

 

Additional games are expected to be televised and those contests will be announced at a later date.

Season ticket renewal forms for the 2008 football season will be mailed out from the Marshall Athletics Ticket Office later this week.

The 2008 Marshall Football Schedule

Saturday, Aug. 30 ILLINOIS STATE
Saturday, Sept. 6 at Wisconsin
Saturday, Sept. 13 MEMPHIS*
Saturday, Sept. 20 at Southern Miss*
Saturday, Sept. 27 at West Virginia
Friday, Oct. 3 CINCINNATI (ESPN)
Saturday, Oct. 18 at UAB
Tuesday, Oct. 28 HOUSTON* (ESPN)
Saturday, Nov. 8 at East Carolina*
Saturday, Nov. 15 UCF*
Saturday, Nov. 22 at Rice*
Saturday, Nov. 29 TULSA*

Home Games in CAPS.
*- Denotes Conference USA game.

ALL DATES AND TIMES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE