Crocker Named To Bronko Nagurski Watch List

Crocker Named To Bronko Nagurski Watch List


  • Bronko Nagurski Watch List

    Chris Crocker

    CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) ? The Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America have announced the 2002 watch list of candidates for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded annually to the nation?s top defensive college player.

    Marshall senior safety Chris Crocker was one of 64 players from across the nation listed on the initial watch list for 2002. Crocker (Chesapeake, Va., Deep Creek HS) finished as the Herd's third leading tackler in 2001 with 88 total stops. He had five tackles for loss and led the squad with 10 pass break ups.

    The 800-member Football Writers Association of America selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list candidates, identifies the players of the week and names the trophy winner. The Charlotte Touchdown Club, a non-profit organization that raises funds for scholarships, has presented the trophy each year since 1995.

    The distinguished recipients who have been awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy in past years include the following: Rob Waldrop (1993), Warren Sapp (1994), Pat Fitzgerald (1995 and '96), Charles Woodson (1997), Champ Bailey (1998), Corey Moore (1999), and Dan Morgan (2000). The 2001 recipient was Roy Williams, a junior defensive back from the University of Oklahoma.

    The award, named after Hall of Famer and University of Minnesota and Chicago Bears star Bronko Nagurski, recognizes the best all-around defensive players throughout the year with the Bronko Nagurski Player of the Week. In November, five finalists will be selected and the trophy will be presented to the winner at a banquet on December 9 in Charlotte, N.C.