Marshall Announces Football Game Times





April 16, 2008

Huntington, W.Va. - Marshall University announced game times for its 2008 home football schedule and the addition of a televised game Wednesday.

The Thundering Herd will open the season at Joan C. Edwards Stadium on Saturday, August 30, against Illinois State at 4:30 p.m.

Five teams that appeared in bowls a year ago will travel to Huntington this season and two of those home games are slated for national television. Games with Big East member Cincinnati (ESPN) on Friday, October 4th and a Tuesday, October 28 meeting with Houston (ESPN2) will both start at 8 p.m. due to the national telecasts.

Marshall's home games with C-USA rival Memphis (Sept. 13) and the homecoming game with defending C-USA Champion UCF (Nov. 15) are scheduled to start at 4:30 p.m. The Thundering Herd's Nov. 29 game with Tulsa will kick off at 3:30 p.m.

CBS College Sports also announced Wednesday that the network will televise Marshall's November 8 game at East Carolina. The network, formerly CSTV, has the option to pick up additional games at a later date.

For information on football season tickets call the Marshall University Athletic Ticket Office at 1-800-THE-HERD or go online to www.Herdzone.com.

The 2008 Marshall Football Schedule
DATE/OPPONENT/TIME (All Times Eastern)

Saturday, Aug. 30 ILLINOIS STATE 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 6 at Wisconsin TBA

Saturday, Sept. 13 MEMPHIS* 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 20 at Southern Miss* TBA

Saturday, Sept. 27 at West Virginia TBA

Friday, Oct. 3 CINCINNATI (ESPN) 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 18 at UAB 4:00 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 28 HOUSTON* (ESPN2) 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 8 at East Carolina* (CBS C) 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 15 UCF* 4:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 22 at Rice* TBA

Saturday, Nov. 29 TULSA* 3:30 p.m.

Home Games in CAPS.

*- Denotes Conference USA game.


 

 

Note - Dates and times are subject to change.