Jim Donnan Named To 2009 Divisional College Football Hall Of Fame Class

May 12, 2009

DALLAS - Archie Manning, chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF), announced today the 2009 Divisional Hall of Fame Class, which considers players and coaches from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (formerly I-AA), Divisions II, III, and the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) for induction.

Among the inductees this year is former Marshall University head football coach Jim Donnan. Boasting a winning percentage of more than 70 percent, Jim Donnan has had success coaching in both the FCS and FBS, leading Marshall and Georgia to national prominence.

Donnan spent six seasons with Marshall and posted a 64-21 record. Donnan led the Thundering Herd to four Division I-AA National Championship games, winning the 1992 national title. In 1994, the Thundering Herd won the Southern Conference Championship. His 15-4 playoff record ranks second best in NCAA FCS history. He was named Division I- AA Coach of the Year in 1992 and 1995.

In 1996, Donnan took the head coaching job at the University of Georgia. From 1997-2000, the Bulldogs won four consecutive bowl games and pushed Donnan's postseason record to 19-4 overall. The 1997 SEC Coach of the Year, Donnan set a Georgia record with four-straight eight-win seasons. Prior to his head coaching career, Donnan helped construct the Oklahoma Sooners wishbone offense that led to 28-straight Big 8 Conference wins and the 1985 NCAA National Championship as the offensive coordinator under Hall of Famer Barry Switzer.

Donnan is inducted with the Divisional Hall of Fame class since his coaching career at Marshall (an FCS school at the time) was longer than his tenure at Georgia. He currently works as an analyst for ESPN.

Other inductees in the class include:


  • ROGER BROWN - Maryland- Eastern Shore, DT (1956-59)
  • FRED DEAN - Louisiana Tech, DT (1971-74)
  • SAM MILLS* - Montclair State (N.J.), LB (1977-80)
  • ROD SMITH - Missouri Southern State, WR (1988, 1990-93)


  • VOLNEY ASHFORD* - 197-55-12 (.769); Missouri Valley (Mo.) (1937-71)
  • JIM DONNAN - 104-40-0 (.722); Marshall (1990-95), Georgia (1996-2000)

    "We are very proud to announce the 2009 Divisional Class of Hall of Famers," said Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Ole Miss. "Each of these men have defined excellence in our sport, and we are happy to reward their respective careers by inducting them in college football's ultimate shrine."

    This year's class will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame during the Enshrinement Festival, July 18-19, in South Bend, Ind. Founded in 1947 with leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, a non-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people.

    With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, Play It Smart, and scholarships of over $1 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Trophy, the Draddy Trophy, presented by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings.