Skip to main content Skip to footer

Parker Named to 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

June 1, 2017

IRVING, Tx. – Chris Parker, Marshall’s all-time rushing leader, has been added to the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame ballot, the organization and the National Football Foundation announced Thursday.

Parker (1992-95) is the Thundering Herd’s career leader in rushing yards (5,924), rushing touchdowns (68), all-purpose yards (7,145), points (428) and total touchdowns (71). He is also the program’s single-season leader in rushing yards (1,833 in 1995) and rushing touchdowns (23 each in 1993 and ’94),

He hopes to join Marshall legends Harry “Cy” Young (inducted in 1958), Jackie Hunt (2004), Mike Barber (2005), head coach Jim Donnan (2009), Troy Brown (2010) and Michael Payton (2015) among those already honored by the Hall.

The 2018 class will officially be inducted during the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4, 2018, at the New York Hilton Midtown. The inductees will be permanently enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta later that December and honored on the field during the 14th Annual National Hall of Fame Salute during the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. They will also be honored at their respective schools at an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the 2018 season.

Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on their school’s geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts. Each year, approximately 15 candidates, who are not selected for the Hall of Fame, will be named automatic holdovers and will bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year. Additionally, the Veterans Committee may make recommendations to the Honors Court for exceptions that allow for the induction of players who played more than 50 years ago.