Skip to main content Skip to footer

Marshall Trio Recognized by CFPA

Marshall's Gator Hoskins

June 11, 2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C.-Three Marshall student-athletes were honored this week as they were each named to the 2013 College Football Performance Offensive Awards Watch List.

Thundering Herd quarterback Rakeem Cato is one of 30 quarterbacks in the running for the CFPA Quarterback Trophy, while Hoskins is one of 36 tight ends chosen and Shuler is one of 31 wideouts selected.

"Congratulations to Rakeem, Tommy and Gator on earning spots on the 2013 CFPA Offensive Awards Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "All three players have tremendous potential for continued success in 2013."

Cato was Conference USA’s MVP last season, while Hoskins had 10 touchdown catches and Shuler had a school-record 110 receptions.

Two Marshall student-athletes have earned CFPA’s honors. Former Marshall tight end Cody Slate won the CFPA Elite Tight End Trophy, while former defensive end Vinny Curry captured the CFPA Elite Defensive Lineman Trophy.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. 

The full list of 2013 CFPA recipients will be announced on January 8, 2014.