Skip to main content Skip to footer

Jason Rader Named to Mackey Award List

Jason Rader Named to Mackey Award List


Marshall University senior tight end Jason Rader was named to the preseason John Mackey Award Watch List.

The Mackey Award is presented annually to the top tight end in college football.

Rader, a native of St. Albans, WV, was the Herd?s fifth leading receiver in 2002, hauling in 30 passes for 320 yards a two touchdowns. Rader transferred to Marshall from the University of Georgia following his sophomore season.

The Mackey Award is presented by the Nassau County, NY, Sports Commission. The award winner is announced in early December and the recipient is honored at the NCSC?s Annual Awards Dinner in April.

The 2002 winner, Dallas Clark of Iowa, was selected in the first round of the 2003 NFL draft by the Indianapolis colts. Finalist Mike Seidman of UCLA was selected in the 3rd round by the Carolina Panthers while fellow finalist Kellen Winslow Jr. will be returning for his junior year at Miami (FL).

The John Mackey Award was created by the NCSC under the guidance of board member Don McPherson, a Nassau County native and former NFL and Syracuse University All-American quarterback. Mackey, also a Nassau County native, is regarded as one of the best athletes to have played the position of tight end. In addition to being an NFL Hall of Famer, he is a Super Bowl winner (Baltimore, Super Bowl V) and was the first President of the NFLPA.

The complete 2003 Watch List follows.

Bobby Blizzard, Sr., North Carolina; Andrew Clarke, Jr., Toledo; Chris Cooley, Sr., Utah State; Joel Dressen, Jr., Colorado State; Tim Euhus, Sr., Oregon State; Brock Edwards, Sr., Texas; Alex Holmes, Sr., USC; Robert Johnson, Sr., Auburn; Eric Knott, Jr., Michigan State; Heath Miller, So., Virginia; Brett Pierce, Sr., Stanford; Jason Rader, Sr., Marshall; Duncan Reid, Jr., Fresno State; Andy Roland, So., Duke; Bo Scaife, Sr., Texas; Alex Smith, Jr., Stanford; Ben Troupe, Sr., Florida; Ben Utecht, Sr., Minnesota; Benjamin Watson, Sr., Georgia; Kris Wilson, Sr., Pittsburgh; Kellen Winslow, Jr., Miami; Kevin Zureki, Sr., Eastern Michigan.