Tuesday Brings Three More Herd Watch Listers

Tommy Shuler

July 15, 2014

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – The Marshall trio of wideout Tommy Shuler, punter Tyler Williams and offensive lineman Chris Jasperse were honored Tuesday on watch and nominee lists.

Shuler was named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, while Williams was named to the watch list for the College Football Performance Awards’ Punter Trophy and Jasperse was selected as a nominee for the AFCA Good Works Team.

Already one of the more prolific receivers in Herd history, Shuler returns for his senior year as one of only eight players in major college football history with two seasons of 100 or more receptions. Shuler has 110 and 106 catches in the last two seasons, respectively. No player has had three. The senior from Miami  enters the 2014 season with 230 MU career catches, fourth on the all-time list and 76 behind leader Josh Davis (306 from 2001-04). His 2,425 receiving yards rank ninth in Herd annals.

Shuler has been named to numerous preseason All-Conference USA lists, in addition to the watch list for the College Football Performance Awards’ Wide Receiver Trophy.

Williams, already a Ray Guy Award nominee, averaged 42.2 yards per punt last season, totaling 2,366 yards on 56 attempts. He placed 13 kicks inside the 20-yard line and had a long punt of 65 yards. The junior from Fort Wayne, Ind., was a Freshman All-American selection in 2012 and a semifinalist for the Ray Guy Award when he led the nation's freshmen with a school-record 45.1-yard average.

Jasperse, also a candidate for the Rimington and Lombardi Awards, enters his 2014 senior season having played 3,032 career snaps, which leads all active FBS offensive linemen. He has been picked by preseason publications as an All-Conference USA center and has started every game in his Marshall career – 39 – since being redshirted as a walk-on in 2010, a number that is also tied for the active FBS lead among offensive linemen in consecutive starts. He received his undergraduate degree last December and will play the 2014 season while taking classes toward a master’s degree in sports administration. He was the All-C-USA first team center in the 2013 season, as voted by league coaches.



The award recognizes players whose charitable involvement and community service contributions stand out among all other student-athletes participating in the sport. Since its establishment in 1992, the award has existed to pay tribute to the "good" in college football that extends beyond the wins and the losses. While balancing academics and athletics, this select group of student-athletes nominated by their respective colleges and universities has committed their limited free time to having a lasting impact on their communities.

Marshall players on 2014 preseason watch lists for national college football awards (through 7/15/14)

Maxwell AwardRakeem Cato, QB

Bednarik AwardJames Rouse, DT

Rimington TrophyChris Jasperse, C

Ray Guy AwardTyler Williams, P

Rotary Lombardi AwardJermaine Holmes, LB; Chris Jasperse, C; Clint Van Horn, OT.

Biletnikoff AwardTommy Shuler, WR

AFCA Good Works TeamChris Jasperse, C

College Football Performance AwardsRakeem Cato, QB; Tommy Shuler, WR; Jermaine Holmes, LB; Steward Butler, RB; Tyler Williams, P.