Shuler Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Marshall's Tommy Shuler

July 16, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- Marshall junior wide receiver Tommy Shuler was named to the 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club announced Tuesday morning.

This is Shuler’s second appearance on the list. He was added to last season’s list in October after leading the nation in receptions through the first five games of the year.

The Miami native finished the 2012 season snaring 9.17 passes per game, an average that led the nation. His 110 catches set a school record, and Shuler became just the fifth C-USA student-athlete to record 100-plus single-season catches and the first underclassman to accomplish the feat.

At season’s end, he named to the All-Conference USA teams by the C-USA coaches,, and Phil Steele.

This summer, he has been named to the College Football Performance Awards Watch List and an honorable mention preseason All-American by Athlon,,,,, Lindy’s and Phil Steele have all named him a preseason all-league pick as well.

Shuler was one of 75 student-athletes named to Tuesday’s list and is the fourth Herd player to be named to a 2013 preseason Watch List to date. Quarterback Rakeem Cato (Maxwell Award), tight end Gator Hoskins (John Mackey Award) and punter Tyler Williams (Ray Guy Award) were previously named to Watch Lists.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on Nov. 18, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Three finalists will be named on Nov. 25. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at



The 2013 Biletnikoff Award will be presented live on Dec. 12, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be telecast from 7-9 p.m. on ESPN.


Biletnikoff Award – Tommy Shuler, WR

Maxwell Award – Rakeem Cato, QB

John Mackey Award – Gator Hoskins, TE

Ray Guy Award – Tyler Williams, P

College Football Performance Awards – Cato; Hoskins; Shuler; Jeremiah Taylor, DE; Jermaine Holmes, LB; Justin Haig, PK; Williams.

ALL-AMERICA (magazines, websites):

Honorable Mention – Shuler.

ALL-CONFERENCE USA (magazines, websites):

Phil Steele’s Preview:

First team – Cato; Shuler; Hoskins; Chris Jasperse, C; Taylor; D.J. Hunter, S; Williams.

Second team – Devon Smith, WR; Holmes.

Third team – Kevin Grooms, RB; Gage Niemeyer, OT; Alex Bazzie, DE.

Fourth team – Josh Lovell, OG; Brandon Sparrow, DT; Kent Turene, LB; Derrick Thomas, CB.


Athlon Sports:

First team – Cato; Shuler; Hoskins; Jasperse; Sparrow; Williams.

Second team – Jeffries; Bazzie.


Lindy’s Sports:

First team – Cato (also Offensive Player of Year); Hoskins; Bazzie.

Second team – Shuler; Jordan Jeffries, OT; Grooms; Holmes; Hunter; Williams.

Firat team – Cato (also Offensive Player of Year); Hoskins; Jeffries.

Second team – Shuler; Taylor; Hunter; Williams.

Third team – Jasperse; Bazzie; Holmes.

First team – Cato; Hoskins; Williams.

Honorable Mention – Shuler; Jeffries.

Frist team – Cato; Shuler; Hoskins; Jasperse; Williams.

Honorable Mention – Grooms, Taylor, Hunter.

First team – Cato; Shuler; Hoskins; Holmes; Hunter; (no kick specialists on team).