C-USA Announces 2008 Football Television Schedule





July 17, 2008

Watch the CBS College Sports Preview of Marshall's Season
Watch the Entire CBS College Sports C-USA Preview Show
C-USA Media Blitz Central

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA has announced its television schedule for the 2008 football season. The current confirmed schedule features nearly 50 games to air nationally or regionally. National games will be-televised on CBS College Sports Network, ESPN, ESPN 2, the NFL Network and the Big Ten Network. Included are a number of unopposed windows that provide tremendous exposure to C-USA, as well as several exciting league match-ups, and many challenging non-conference contests. Additionally, at least seven other games will be regionally-televised throughout the southeast on CSS.

This season marks the fourth year of C-USA's partnership with CBS College Sports Network (formerly CSTV). In 2005, Conference USA signed a six-year initial term that includes significant national and regional exposure for football, men's and women's basketball and other C-USA sports. CBS College Sports Network is widely available on cable systems across the country and via satellite on DIRECTV Channel 613 (Premier Package and Sports Pack) and Dish Network Channel 152 (America's Top 200 Package).

Conference USA will also be featured on ESPN and its family of networks with at least 10 regular season contests televised this fall as part of its contract with the network. Additional non-conference games may be selected by the network through agreements with other conferences. The fourth annual Conference USA Football Championship Game will be televised by ESPN or ESPN 2 on Saturday, December 6.

"We are very pleased to have so many of our football games on television and distributed to fans throughout the country," said Conference USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky. "We are looking forward to a great conference race this fall and we're glad that people around the country will be able to watch so many of our games."

CBS College Sports Network will broadcast nationally at least 20 C-USA football games during the 2008 season, including 15 conference match-ups. Live game coverage kicks off on Saturday, Sept. 6 as Rice visits Memphis. CBS College Sports Network's schedule also includes 12-day selections during the final four Saturdays of the season.

The ESPN schedule kicks off on Friday, August 29, when June Jones makes his SMU coaching debut at longtime rival Rice. The next day, East Carolina squares off against Virginia Tech in Charlotte on ESPN. On Saturday, September 6, C-USA will have three of its home games air on the ESPN family of networks as West Virginia visits East Carolina, South Florida plays at UCF and Texas faces UTEP in El Paso.

The ESPN schedule also features six unopposed windows, with three Friday night contests, two Sunday night games and one Tuesday night tilt. Four of those games feature a pair of Conference USA teams in head-to-head matchups.

As part of the league's agreement with CBS College Sports Network, seven games have been sub-licensed for regional broadcast. Comcast Sports Southeast (CSS) will begin its regional package throughout the southeastern U.S. on September 13 when Memphis visits Marshall.

Additional Conference USA football television exposures remain a possibility, and will be released as soon as they are finalized.

2008 CONFERENCE USA FOOTBALL TELEVISION SCHEDULE
(confirmed games as of July 17)

CBS COLLEGE SPORTS NETWORK NATIONAL

Saturday, September 6Rice at Memphis8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 13Air Force at Houston3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 20TCU at SMU8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Thursday, September 25SMU at Tulane8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 27Houston at East Carolina3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 27UCF at UTEP8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Thursday, October 2Memphis at UAB8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 4SMU at UCF3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 4Rice at Tulsa8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Thursday, October 9UAB at Houston8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 11Boise State at Southern Miss8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 18UTEP at Tulsa8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 25SMU at Navy3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 25Southern Miss at Memphis8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, November 8 Marshall at East Carolina3:30 p.m. EST/2:30 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 8 TBA (12 day advance)8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 15TBA (12 day advance)8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 22TBA (12 day advance)3:30 p.m. EST/2:30 p.m. CST
Friday, November 28UTEP at East Carolina1:00 p.m. EST/Noon CST
Saturday, November 29TBA (12 day advance)3:30 p.m. EST/2:30 p.m. CST

ESPN SCHEDULE

Friday, August 29SMU at Rice8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, August 30Virginia Tech at East CarolinaNoon EST/11:00 a.m. CST
Saturday, September 6West Virginia at East Carolina4:30 p.m. EDT/3:30 p.m. CDT
Friday, October 3Cincinnati at Marshall8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Friday, October 10 at Memphis8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Sunday, October 26UCF at Tulsa8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Sunday, November 2East Carolina at UCF8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST
Sunday, December 21 R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST
Wednesday, December 31Bell Helicopter Armed Forces BowlNoon EST/11:00 a.m. CST
Friday, January 2AutoZone Liberty Bowl5:00 p.m. EST/4:00 p.m. CST
Tuesday, January 6GMAC Bowl8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST

ESPN 2 SCHEDULE

Saturday, September 6South Florida at UCF7:00 p.m. EDT/6:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 6Texas at UTEP10:15 p.m. EDT/9:15 p.m. CDT
Tuesday, October 28Houston at Marshall8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, December 20St. Petersburg Bowl4:30 p.m. EST/3:30 p.m. CST

ESPN OR ESPN 2 SCHEDULE

Saturday, December 6 C-USA Championship GameTBA

BIG TEN NETWORK SCHEDULE

Saturday, September 6Marshall at WisconsinNoon EDT/11:00 a.m. CDT

NFL NETWORK SCHEDULE

Tuesday, December 30Texas Bowl8:00 p.m. EST/7:00 p.m. CST

COMCAST SPORTS SOUTHEAST (CSS) REGIONAL SCHEDULE

Saturday, September 13Memphis at Marshall7:00 p.m. EDT/6:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, September 20Marshall at Southern Miss3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT
Saturday, October 18 Memphis at East Carolina12:00 p.m. EDT/11:00 a.m. CDT
Saturday, November 1 UAB at Southern Miss8:00 p.m. EDT/7:00 p.m. CDT
Saturday, November 15UCF at Marshall4:30 p.m. EST/3:30 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 22TBA (12 day advance)7:00 p.m. EST/6:00 p.m. CST
Saturday, November 29TBA (12 day advance)3:30 p.m. EST/2:30 p.m. CST

ESPN REGIONAL SCHEDULE

Saturday, September 13Marshall at West Virginia3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT

RAYCOM REGIONAL SCHEDULE

Saturday, September 6Southern Miss at Auburn12:30 p.m. EDT/11:30 a.m. CDT
Saturday, September 13UAB at Tennessee 12:30 p.m. EDT/11:30 a.m. CDT