Skip to main content Skip to footer

Evans Named to Paul Hornung Award Watch List

Marshall's Troy Evans

Aug. 8, 2011

LOUISVILLE, Ky.-Marshall wide receiver Troy Evans was named to the Paul Hornung Award Watch List Monday morning by the Louisville Sports Commission. The award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend Paul Hornung.

The 2011 Watch List was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on 2010 statistics and expectations heading into the 2011 season.

Evans had 21 catches for 225 yards and three touchdowns last year to go along with 38 yards rushing and two scores. He also returned 16 punts for 120 yards and 31 kickoffs for 711 yards and added a 100-yard return for touchdown against Southern Mississippi.

In 2010, players on this year's Paul Hornung Award Watch List accounted for 16,913 rushing yards, 15,287 receiving yards, 23,548 kickoff return yards, 3,990 punt return yards and 547 total tackles. Reminiscent of Hornung during his playing days, members of the Watch List demonstrated a knack for scoring, posting 300 total touchdowns and 1,806 points a year ago.

"I am impressed by the number of multi-talented players on our 2011 Watch List," Hornung said. "It will be interesting to see who emerges as the top choices of our Selection Committee. I look forward to honoring the winner here in Louisville this winter at one of the best banquets the country has to offer for college football players and their families."

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting on Facebook. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Fan voting will open in late September and factor into selection of the finalists and winner.

Players from all FBS teams are eligible and appearing on the Paul Hornung Award Watch List is not a prerequisite for winning the Award. The Selection Committee, comprised of 16 national sports journalists and former college and NFL players, will narrow the field to approximately 3-5 Finalists in early December then will select the winner from among the Finalists following the bowl season in early January. Finalists will be announced on and at the Louisville Sports Commission Breakfast December 9.



The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players that often go unnoticed. Owen Marecic of Stanford, a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker, won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award in 2010.

2011 Watch List Selections
Joe Adams, Arkansas
Keenan Allen, California
Kenjon Barner, Oregon
Brandon Boykin, Georgia
Chad Bumphis, Mississippi State
Jesse Callier, Washington
Tyron Carrier, Houston
Tim Cornett, UNLV
Tommy Davis, Northern Illinois
Jeff Demps, Florida
Jyruss Edwards, Louisiana-Monroe
Andre Ellington, Clemson
Troy Evans, Marshall
Jerry Gates, Bowling Green
Taylor Gentry, NC State
Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
Ray Graham, Pittsburgh
Cyrus Gray, Texas A&M
Cliff Harris, Oregon
T.Y. Hilton, Florida International
Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
Josh Huff, Oregon
Damaris Johnson, Tulsa
KeShawn Martin, Michigan State
Rishard Matthews, Nevada
Marquis Maze, Alabama
Bradley McDougald, Kansas
Jamal Miles, Arizona State
Warren Norman, Vanderbilt
Chris Owusu, Stanford
Eric Page, Toledo
Bobby Rainey, Western Kentucky
Joseph Randle, Oklahoma State
Greg Reid, Florida State
Trent Richardson, Alabama
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Josh Robinson, Central Florida
James Rodgers, Oregon State
Mohamed Sanu, Rutgers
Pat Shed, UAB
Eric Stephens, Texas Tech
Troy Stoudermire Jr., Minnesota
Alexander Teich, Navy
Justin Veltung, Idaho
Jonathan Warzeka, Air Force
Kerwynn Williams, Utah State
David Wilson, Virginia Tech
Cierre Wood, Notre Dame
Robert Woods, USC
DJ Woods, Cincinnati