Legursky Named to 2005 Rimington Trophy Watch List

Aug. 15, 2005

DALLAS - Marshall Thundering Herd sophomore center and Beckley native Doug Legursky is one of 38 student-athletes named to the 2005 Dave Rimington Trophy Watch List, announced Monday by the Sports Group.

The watch list will be updated throughout the season in the weekly Rimington Reports. Awarded annually to the best center in the country, the Dave Rimington Trophy enters the 2005 season with a strong field of potential stand-out centers.

The 6-foot-3 308-pound Legursky, Missouri's Adam Spieker and Chris Yoder of Texas A&M were the only sophomores named to the list. Legursky was the lone representative from Conference USA.

Last season, Legursky saw action in all 12 games along the offensive line and saw significant playing time at center as a true freshman.

The Rimington Trophy recipient is determined by a consensus of the four All-America teams: The Walter Camp Football Foundation, America Football Coaches Association, Football Writers Association of America and "The Sporting News."

An associate member of the National College Football Awards Association, the six-year old trophy is presented by Canon USA, MidAmerican Energy Holdings and Black & Decker.

The award is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Michigan's David Baas (2004 co-winner), LSU's Ben Wilkerson (2004 co-winner), Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, Miami's Brett Romberg, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley and Nebraska's Dominic Raiola are past recipients.

Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $450,000 for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation which to date has raised over $40 million for CF Research. Esiason and Dave Rimington were teammates on the Cincinnati Bengals from 1984-87. Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982 - years in which he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's premiere college interior lineman.

The Sports Group also developed and directs the Heisman Winners Association (HWA), a limited liability company, which focuses marketing attention and opportunities on the Heisman winners as a collective group. TSG also currently works with and has worked with the John Wooden Award, the Senior CLASS Award and the Driver of the Year Award as well as a variety of other professional and amateur organizations and companies. For more information contact Elon Werner, TSG Director of Communications, 214-631-7747 or 214-244-1184 (mobile).

Fall 2005 Rimington Trophy Watch List Albert Bimper, Colorado State; Tony Bonds, Mississippi; Jesse Boone, Utah; David Castillo, Florida State; JB Closner, Alabama; Ryan Cook, New Mexico; Stephen Culp, TCU; Mike Degory, Florida; Mike Elgin, Iowa; Greg Eslinger, Minnesota; Mark Fenton, Colorado; Leroy Harris, NC State; Jasper Harvey, San Diego State; Jeremy Hines, West Virginia; Ryan Kalil, Southern California; Kili Lefotu, Arizona; Doug Legursky, Marshall; Todd Londot, Miami (Ohio); Grayling Love, Arizona State; Nick Mangold, Ohio State; Kurt Mann, Nebraska; Mike McCloskey, UCLA; Chris McNeil, Mississippi State; Nick Mihlhauser, Washington State; Chris Morris, Michigan State; Rudy Niswanger, LSU; Marvin Philip, California; Donovan Raiola, Wisconsin; Lance Reynolds, BYU; Kyle Roper, Arkansas; Patrick Ross, Boston College; Adam Spieker, Missouri; Jason Spitz, Louisville; Marcus Stewart, Louisiana Tech; Russ Tanner, Georgia; Brian Van Acker, Northern Illinois; Brad Vanneman, Washington; Chris Yoder, Texas A&M; Kyle Young, Fresno State