Wallace Named To Doak Walker Award List

Wallace Named To Doak Walker Award List


Franklin Wallace

DALLAS, TEXAS - The SMU Athletic Forum announced today the names of the 42 preseason candidates for the 2002 Doak Walker Award, awarded annually to the nation's top college running back.

Marshall University junior running back Franklin Wallace (Myrtle Beach, SC) was among the nominees. Wallace rushed for 796 yards on only 152 carries last year. He also scored nine touchdowns. He missed all, or most, or four games with injuries during the season.

Also among the field of candidates are Maryland junior Bruce Perry, a 2001 Doak Walker Award finalist who ran for 1,242 yards and 10 touchdowns last season; Nevada sophomore Chance Kretschmer, who led the country in rushing last year with 1,732 yards and scored 15 touchdowns; and Wisconsin junior Anthony Davis, the nation?s second leading returning rusher who totaled 1,466 yards last season.

The complete list of candidates follows:

Candidates for the 2002 Doak Walker Award
Marion Barber III (So.), Minnesota
Cedric Benson (So.), Texas
Chris Brown (Jr.), Colorado
Dante Brown (Sr.), Memphis
Kerry Carter (Sr.), Stanford
ShanDerrick Charles (So.), SMU
Avon Cobourne (Sr.), West Virginia
Anthony Davis (Jr.), Wisconsin
Dahrran Diedrick (Sr.), Nebraska
Clarence Farmer (Jr.), Arizona
Brock Forsey (Sr.), Boise State
Ahmaad Galloway (Sr.), Alabama
Earnest Graham (Sr.), Florida
Aaron Greving (Sr.), Iowa
Quentin Griffin (Sr.), Oklahoma
Thomas Hammock (Sr.), Northern Illinois
Joe Haro (Sr.), UNLV
Antoineo Harris (Sr.), Illinois
Dwone Hicks (Sr.), Middle Tennessee State
Joe Igber (Sr.), California
Steven Jackson (So.), Oregon State
Terrence Jackson (Jr.), Central Michigan
Larry Johnson (Sr.), Penn State
Greg Jones (Jr.), Florida State
Chance Kretschmer (So.), Nevada
Montrell Lowe (Sr.), Purdue
Marcus Merriweather (Sr.), Ball State
Mewelde Moore (Jr.), Tulane
Cal Murray (Jr.), Miami (Ohio)
Derrick Nix (Sr.), Southern Mississippi
Brandon Payne (Sr.), Akron
Bruce Perry (Jr.), Maryland
Artose Pinner (Sr.), Kentucky
Andrew Pinnock (Sr.), South Carolina
Cecil Sapp (Sr.), Colorado State
Tanardo Sharps (Sr.), Temple
Musa Smith (Jr.), Georgia
Fred Talley (Jr.), Arkansas
LaBrandon Toefield (Jr.), LSU
Franklin Wallace (Jr.), Marshall
Carnell Williams (So.), Auburn
Tarence Williams (Sr.), Wake Forest

?The preseason candidates for the 2002 Doak Walker Award are not only being recognized for their excellence on the field, but also for their achievements in the classroom and in the community,? said Randall Goss, chair of the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors. ?We look forward to watching the progress of each of these outstanding student-athletes this fall.?

The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select eight semifinalists on November 19, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote on the winner in late November. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, print and electronic media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2002 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN?s Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 12, 2002. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at The Fairmont Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Tuesday, January 28, 2003.

Former BYU running back Luke Staley, who was selected by the Detroit Lions in the 2002 NFL Draft, won the 2001 Doak Walker Award.

The SMU Athletic Forum, the presenting entity for the Doak Walker Award, produces four annual luncheons and is widely regarded as America?s preeminent sports luncheon series. Sponsors of the Forum include PricewaterhouseCoopers, American Airlines, The Dallas Morning News, AFLAC, Guaranty Bank and The Texas Rangers.