Skip to main content Skip to footer

Herd?s Yates Named To Butkus Watch List

Herd?s Yates Named To Butkus Watch List


Senior Max Yates

There are apparently going to be a lot of eyes on Marshall?s star linebacker Max Yates this season.

After having been named to the Watch List for the Rotary Lombardi Award, which goes to the outstanding lineman in the country, earlier this summer by the Rotary Club of Houston, Yates has now been named by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando to the watch list for the Butkus Award, presented annually to the top linebacker in the nation.

A total of 69 preliminary candidates for the award were named to the watch list. That list will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on October 18 and then cut to three finalists on November 8. The winner will be announced on December 7 at the Butkus Award Gala at the Hard Rock Cafe at Universal Studios CityWalk in Orlando.

This year?s Watch List includes 69 noteworthy candidates that represent schools and conferences from across the nation. The independent selection committee for the 2001 Butkus Award, comprised of 28 of the nation?s foremost national media members, is solely responsible for all voting in the selection process. Selection Committee members have already started evaluating the candidates and will continue their review throughout the entire football season.

There are 14 candidates making their second appearance on the Butkus Award Watch List: Andra Davis (Florida), Ben Leber (Kansas State), Boss Bailey (Georgia), Bradie James (LSU), Eddie Strong (Mississippi), Eric Brackens (Michigan), Justin Smith (Indiana), Larry Foote (Michigan), Max Yates (Marshall), Pernell Griffin (East Carolina), Robert Thomas (UCLA), Saleem Rasheed (Alabama) Rocky Calmus (Oklahoma) and Trev Faulk (LSU). Temple?s Taylor Suman and Colorado?s Jashon Sykes are both on their third consecutive Butkus Award Watch List.

The Butkus Award is regarded as one of the most elite individual honors in college football. Past recipients include such outstanding linebackers as Dan Morgan (2000, Miami, FL); LaVar Arrington (1999, Penn State); Chris Claiborne (1998, Southern California); Andy Katzenmoyer (1997, Ohio State); Matt Russell (1996, Colorado); Kevin Hardy (1995, Illinois); Dana Howard (1994, Illinois); Trev Alberts (1993, Nebraska); Marvin Jones (1992, Florida State); Erick Anderson (1991, Michigan); Alfred Williams (1990, Colorado); Percy Snow (1989, Michigan State); Derrick Thomas (1988, Alabama); Paul McGowan (1997, Florida State); and Brian Bosworth (1985 and 1986, Oklahoma).

Created in 1985 by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando Inc., the Butkus Award carries the name and support of one of the greatest middle linebackers in football history, Dick Butkus.

The complete 2001 Butkus Award Watch List, as well as a breakdown of candidates by conference, follows:

2001 Butkus Award
Watch List
James Allen -- Oregon State
Boss Bailey -- Georgia
Solomon Bates -- Arizona State
Chad Bayer -- TCU
Kevin Bentley -- Northwestern
Rocky Boiman -- Notre Dame
Eric Brackens -- Michigan
Lance Briggs -- Arizona
Jomar Butler -- San Diego State
Rocky Calmus -- Oklahoma
Travis Carroll -- Florida
Chad Carson -- Clemson
Joe Cooper -- Ohio State
Andra Davis -- Florida
Rod Davis -- Southern Miss
Dan Dawson -- Rice
Sheldon Deckart -- Utah
Michael Dulaney -- Tulsa
Kalimba Edwards -- South Carolina
Justin Ena -- BYU
Trev Faulk -- LSU
LeVar Fisher -- NC State
Lawrence Flugence -- Texas Tech
Larry Foote -- Michigan
Nick Greisen -- Wisconsin
Pernell Griffin -- East Carolina
Mario Haggan -- Mississippi State
Napoleon Harris -- Northwestern
Gerald Hayes -- Pittsburgh
Victor Hobson -- Michigan
Curtis Holden -- Washington State
Bradie James -- LSU
Bradley Jennings -- Florida State
Justin Johnson -- Fresno State
Brad Kassell -- North Texas
Jason Kaufusi -- Utah
Ben Leber -- Kansas State
D.D. Lewis -- Texas
Roy Magee -- Southern Miss
Kawika Mitchell -- South Florida
Mike Nattiel -- Florida
Terry Pierce -- Kansas State
Kendyll Pope -- Florida State
Saleem Rasheed -- Alabama
Billy Silva -- Northwestern
Clifton Smith -- Syracuse
Justin Smith -- Indiana
Raonall Smith -- Washington State
Maurice Sonnier -- Louisiana-Monroe
Randy Stella -- Nebraska
Dominique Stevenson -- Tennessee
Eddie Strong -- Mississippi
Jashon Sykes -- Colorado
Taylor Suman -- Temple
Ben Taylor -- Virginia Tech
D?Wayne Taylor -- New Mexico State
Robert Thomas -- UCLA
Aaron Thompson -- Maryland
Josh Thornhill -- Michigan State
Vic Viloria -- SMU
Paul Walkenhorst -- BYU
Will Weatherspoon -- Georgia
Matt Weikert -- Ohio
Grant Wiley -- West Virginia
Matt Wilhelm -- Ohio State
Larry Williams -- Northern Illinois
Recardo Wimbush -- Georgia Tech
Max Yates -- Marshall
Brian Zickefoose -- Army

2001 Butkus Award
Conference Breakdown

SEC 12
Boss Bailey Georgia
Travis Carroll Florida
Andra Davis Florida
Kalimba Edwards South Carolina
Trev Faulk LSU
Mario Haggan Mississippi State
Bradie James LSU
Mike Nattiel Florida
Saleem Rasheed Alabama
Dominique Stevenson Tennessee
Eddie Strong Mississippi
Will Weatherspoon Georgia

Big Ten 11
Kevin Bentley Northwestern
Eric Brackens Michigan
Joe Cooper Ohio State
Larry Foote Michigan
Nick Greisen Wisconsin
Napoleon Harris Northwestern
Victor Hobson Michigan
Billy Silva Northwestern
Justin Smith Indiana
Josh Thornhill Michigan State
Matt Wilhelm Ohio State

Big 12 7
Rocky Calmus Oklahoma
Lawrence Flugence Texas Tech
Ben Leber Kansas State
D.D. Lewis Texas
Terry Pierce Kansas State
Randy Stella Nebraska
Jashon Sykes Colorado

PAC 10 6
James Allen Oregon State
Solomon Bates Arizona State
Lance Briggs Arizona
Curtis Holden Washington State
Raonall Smith Washington State
Robert Thomas UCLA

Chad Carson Clemson
Levar Fisher NC State
Bradley Jennings Florida State
Kendyll Pope Florida State
Aaron Thompson Maryland
Ricardo Wimbush Georgia Tech

Big East 5 Gerald Hayes Pittsburgh
Clifton Smith Syracuse
Taylor Suman Temple
Ben Taylor Virginia Tech
Grant Wiley West Virginia

Conference USA 5
Chad Bayer TCU
Rod Davis Southern Miss
Pernell Griffin East Carolina
Roy Magee Southern Miss
Brian Zickefoose Army

Mountain West 5
Jomar Butler San Diego State
Sheldon Deckart Utah
Justin Ena BYU
Jason Kaufusi Utah
Paul Walkenhor BYU

Dan Dawson Rice
Michael Dulaney Tulsa
Justin Johnson Fresno State
Vic Viloria SMU

Matt Weikert Ohio
Larry Williams Northern Illinois
Max Yates Marshall

Sun Belt 3
Brad Kassell North Texas
Maurice Sonnier Louisiana-Monroe
D?Wayne Taylor New Mexico State

Independents 2
Rocky Boiman Notre Dame
Kawika Mitchell South Florida