Skip to main content Skip to footer

Marshall's Cody Slate on John Mackey Award Mid-Season Watch List

Oct. 19, 2009

Manhassett, N.Y. - The 2009 John Mackey Award midseason watch list has been released by the Nassau County Sports Commission and Marshall's Cody Slate is one of 22 tight ends vying for the prestigious award.

Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2009 John Mackey winner will be announced on December 10, 2009. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2009 Mackey semi-finalists on November 16, 2009 and the announcement of the 2009 Mackey finalists on November 23, 2009. All future announcements can be found at

The John Mackey Award midseason watch list is an update from the preseason watch list. This list is meant to draw attention to tight ends in contention for the annual award based on their performance in the first half of the active season.

Slate, a senior from Chipley, Fla., ranks sixth all-time at Marshall in career receptions with 187, eighth all-time in career receiving yards with 2,436 and ranks eighth all-time in touchdown receptions at MU with 21. Slate leads Marshall this season with a team-high 38 catches for 424 yards and two touchdowns.

George BryanSONC State
Dorin DickersonSRPittsburgh
Ed DicksonSROregon
Charlie GanttJRMich State
Riar GeerSRColorado
Garrett GrahamSRWisconsin
Ladarius GreenSOLouisiana
Aaron HernandezJRFlorida
Jeron MastrudSRKansas St
Anthony McCoySRUSC
Mike McNeilJRNebraska
Kavario MiddletonSOWashington
Tony MoeakiSRIowa
Colin PeekSRAlabama
Dennis PittaSRBYU
Andrew QuarlessJRPenn St
Jesse RackSRBuffalo
Kyle RudolphSONotre Dame
Weslye SaundersJRSouth Carolina
Cody SlateSRMarshall
Luke StockerJRTennessee
DJ WilliamsJRArkansas

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists eight NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark ('01) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02) of the Denver Broncos, Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the 2008 Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins and the 2008 John Mackey Award recipient Chase Coffman of the Cincinnati Bengals.

The Nassau County Sports Commission, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization created to enhance the quality of life through sports is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. For more information, please visit

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,