Skip to main content Skip to footer

Leftwich Selected As Semifinalist For Davey O'Brien Award

Leftwich Selected As Semifinalist For Davey O'Brien Award


Byron Leftwich

FORT WORTH, Texas ? The Davey O'Brien Foundation today announced the semifinalists for the 2002 Davey O?Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually to the nation?s best college quarterback. Marshall University senior quarterback Byron Leftwich was one of 14 players named to the list.

The O?Brien Advisory Committee, composed of national sportswriters and commentators, will vote later this month to narrow the field again. The three finalists will be announced on Monday, December 2 by the National College Football Awards Association in a joint effort among college football award programs.

The semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Brad Banks, Iowa
Kyle Boller, California
Ken Dorsey, Miami
Jason Gesser, Washington State
Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech
Byron Leftwich, Marshall
Jared Lorenzen, Kentucky
Eli Manning, Mississippi
Zack Mills, Penn State
Carson Palmer, USC
Dave Ragone, Louisville
Philip Rivers, North Carolina State
Chris Simms, Texas
Seneca Wallace, Iowa State

The winner of the 2002 Davey O?Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on the 2002 Home Depot College Football Awards Show, 7:00 PM EST, Thursday, December 12, 2002.

The show will air on ESPN live from the Atlantic Dance Hall on the BoardWalk at Disney, right next to Epcot in Orlando, Fla. The winner will be honored at the 26th annual O'Brien Awards Dinner, February 17, 2003, at The Fort Worth Club, Fort Worth, Texas. Air transportation is provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the Davey O?Brien National Quarterback Award.