Skip to main content Skip to footer

Darius Watts Named Second Team All-American By Football News

Darius Watts Named Second Team All-American By Football News


HUNTINGTON, WV -- Marshall University sophomore wide receiver Darius Watts was named to the Football News All-America Second Team.

Watts, from College Park, Ga., leads the nation in touchdown receptions with 17 and is third in the nation in receiving yards (129.2/game) and fourth in receptions (7.9/game).

The first team receivers, as named by the Football News, were Lee Evans of Wisconsin and Jabar Gaffney of Florida. Watts was joined on the second team by LSU?s Josh Reed. Earlier this month Evans, Gaffney and Reed were selected as finalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which goes to the nation?s top receiver.

Only one other player from the Mid-American Conference was listed among the three teams chosen by the publication. Ohio punter Dave Zastudil was named first team All-American.

Following is a complete look at the three squads selected by the Football News.

First Team Offense: QB Rex Grossman (Florida), RB Luke Staley (BYU), RB William Green (Boston College), WR Lee Evans (Wisconsin), WR Jabar Gaffney (Florida), TE Daniel Graham (Colorado), OL Mike Williams (Texas), OL Bryan McKinnie (Miami), OL Eric Heitmann (Stanford), OL Toniu Fonoti (Nebraska), OL Terrence Metcalf (Mississippi), K Travis Dorsch (Purdue).

First Team Defense: DL Dwight Freeney (Syracuse), DL Junius Peppers (North Carolina), DL Wendell Bryant (Wisconsin), DL Larry Tripplett (Washington), LB E.J. Henderson (Maryland), LB Robert Thomas (UCLA), LB Larry Foote (Michigan), DB Edward Reed (Miami), DB Roy Williams (Oklahoma), DB Quentin Jammer (Texas), DB Keyou Craver (Nebraska), P Dave Zastudil (Ohio).

Second Team Offense: QB David Carr (Fresno State), RB Bruce Perry (Maryland), RB Travis Stephens (Tennessee), WR Darius Watts (Marshall), WR Josh Reed (LSU), TE Chris Baker (Michigan State), OL Jon Stinchcomb (Georgia), OL Mike Pearson (Florida), OL Seth McKinney (Texas A&M), OL Levi Jones (Arizona State), OL Jonathan Goodwin (Michigan), K Jarvis Wallum (Wyoming).

Second Team Defense: DL Greg Gathers (Georgia Tech), DL Chris Kelsay (Nebraska), DL Alan Harper (Fresno State), DL Alex Brown (Florida), LB Rocky Calmus (Oklahoma), LB Levar Fisher (N.C. State), LB Ben Taylor (Virginia Tech), DB Mike Doss (Ohio State), DB Kevin Curtis (Texas Tech), DB Tank Williams (Stanford), DB Eugene Wilson (Illinois ), P Brooks Barnard (Maryland).

Third Team Offense: QB Eric Crouch (Nebraska), RB Levron Williams (Indiana), RB Leonard Henry (East Carolina), WR Billy McMullen (Virginia), WR Ashley Lelie (Hawaii), TE Justin Peelle (Oregon), OL Kyle Young (Clemson), OL Andy Eby (Kansas State), OL Joaquin Gonzalez (Miami), OL LeCharles Bentley (Ohio State), OL Melvin Fowler (Maryland), K Seth Marler (Tulane).