Skip to main content Skip to footer

Football Hosts Tulane For Senior Day

Nov. 24, 2010


Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Marshall University football team will close out the 2010 season by playing host to Tulane on Saturday at Noon. Prior to kickoff, the Marshall Football Family will pay tribute to 19 seniors who will be playing in their final game at Joan C. Edwards Stadium.

Marshall's senior class of Brian Anderson, Mark Cann, Pete Culicerto, Courtney Edmonson, Mario Harvey, Michael Janac, Johnny Jones, Howard King, Cody Ochoa, Kevin Perry, Landis Provancha, Chad Schofield, Lee Smith, Press Taylor, Demetrius Thompson, Tavaris Thompson, Erik Vint, Chuck Walker and D.J. Wingate. Wayne Bonner plans to return next season (has a redshirt season) and Cann is foregoing his final year of eligibility and will graduate this year.

Marshall leads the all-time series with the Green Wave, 3-0. The Thundering Herd picked up a 31-10 win over Tulane last season at the Louisiana Superdome and in Tulane's only visit to Huntington , back in 2006, Marshall managed a 42-21 victory. The team's first meeting was moved from New Orleans to Mobile, Ala., due to Hurricane Katrina and Marshall escaped that series opener with a 27-26 win at Ladd Peebles Stadium, home of the GMAC Bowl.

Marshall (4-7, 3-4 C-USA) and Tulane (4-7, 2-5 C-USA) will both be fighting to finish the season on a high note. A Marshall win would be the Herd's fourth in its last five games and provide a boost heading into the off season.

Marshall features one of the nation's top linebackers, who will be playing his final game in a Marshall uniform, in senior Mario Harvey. The preseason All-Conference USA pick was one of only 15 semi-finalists for the Butkus Award. He currently has 122 tackles, 14.5 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks. He is currently tied for 7th in the nation in tackles for game with 11.5 per game. With one more tackle he will become only the 8th player in school history to reach the 400-tackle mark for a career.

Marshall senior quarterback Brian Anderson will also be closing out a solid career. He now ranks ninth all-time at Marshall in career passing yards list with 5,241, ahead of Stan Hill's 4,711 career passing yards from 2001-04 and behind Bernard Morris' 5,616 yards from 2004-07. Anderson also has 35 career TD passes and is now tied for ninth all-time at Marshall, ahead of Morris' 31 career TD tosses, and tied Eric Kresser (35 TDs in 1996). Anderson needs three touchdown passes against Tulane to match Hill's 38 career TD passes that rank 8th.

Marshall has played 12 true freshmen and 28 redshirt and true freshmen in 2010. Those figures rank among this highest in the nation this season. True Freshmen Trevor Black, Zach Dunston, Demetrius Evans, Gator Hoskins, Jermaine Kelson, Tron Martinez, Darryl Roberts, T.J. Ross, Jeremiah Taylor, Garrett Scott, Brandon Sparrow and Eddie Sullivan have all season game action thus far.

Air Force 19
Florida 17
Tennessee 16
Syracuse 15
Oklahoma State 14
Florida State 13
Vanderbilt 13
Auburn 12
Marshall 12
Oklahoma 12
Texas 12
Tulane 12
Western Kentucky 12

Florida 31
Marshall 28
Tennessee 26
W. Kentucky 24

Thundering Herd junior defensive end Vinny Curry will also try and close out the season on a high note. Curry is having a great year with 89 total tackles, 16 tackles for loss and a C-USA leading 11.5 sacks. He was selected to's Midseason All-America First-Team and was named to Phil Steele's Midseason All-America squad as a third team selection. He is also on the Ted Hendricks Award Final Watch List for national defensive end of the year. He currently ranks third in the nation in total sacks with 11.5 and his 89 total tackles are the most by a defensive lineman in major college football this season.

NCAA Total Sack Leaders
1. Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson 15.5
2. Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue 12.5
3. Vinny Curry, Marshall 11.5
4. Jamari Lattimore, Middle Tenn. 10.5

The game will also be the last at Marshall for senior Lee Smith. He was also one of 32 tight ends on the preseason John Mackey Award watch list and is a two-time Thundering Herd captain that will be playing in his 48th and final game at Marshall.

The game will be televised nationally by CBS College Sports with Roger Twibill play-by-play and Mike Leach analyst.

PARKING INFORMATION: All stadium lots will open to permit holders at 8 a.m. Saturday.

TICKET OFFICE: All ticket booths will open at 8:30 a.m. at Joan C. Edwards Stadium on Saturday.

THUNDER WALK: Marshall's football team will arrive at the north gate of the stadium West Lot approximately two hours prior to kick at 10 a.m. The coaching staff and team will deboard the buses and make their way through the lot to the Shewey Center.