Skip to main content Skip to footer

Thundering Herd Football Lands Four On All-MAC First Team

Thundering Herd Football Lands Four On All-MAC First Team


Huntington, W. Va.--Marshall football placed four players on this year?s All-Mid-American Conference first team and 11 overall selections, announced today by the MAC office in Cleveland, Ohio. The Thundering Herd tied Northern Illinois with the most overall selections at 11, and had a MAC-best three first-team selections that were on last year?s first team.

Marshall quarterback Byron Leftwich (Washington, D.C.), wide receiver Darius Watts (College Park, Ga.), and offensive lineman Steve Sciullo (Pittsburgh, Pa.) all make repeat appearances on this year?s first team. All three were first-team selections last season. All-purpose kicker Curtis Head (Shelbyville, Ky.) rounds out the Thundering Herd representation on the first team as the league?s best punter.

Offensive lineman Stephen Peretta (Garden City, N.Y.), defensive linemen Orlando Washington (Accoville, W.Va.), Jamus Martin (Martinsville, Va.), and Toriano Brown (Batesville, Miss.), and defensive back Chris Crocker (Chesapeake, Va.) made the second team, while wide receiver Josh Davis (Hickory Grove, S.C.) and inside linebacker Duran Smith (Soddy-Daisy, Tenn.) were named honorable mention.

The MAC specialty awards will be released by the conference office later this week.

First Team Offense
TE-Mobolaji Afariogun, Western Michigan (Sr., Detroit, Mich.)##$$
C-Chris Tuminello, Toledo (Sr., Boardman, Ohio)
OL-Steve Sciullo, Marshall (Sr., Pittsburgh, Pa.)++
OL-Nick Kaczur, Toledo (So., Brantford, Ontario)##
OL-Tim Vincent, Northern Illinois (Sr., Galena, Ill.)##
OL-Kyle Croskey, Central Michigan (Sr., East Lansing, Mich.)
WR-Darius Watts, Marshall (Jr., College Park, Ga.)++
WR-Robert Redd, Bowling Green (Sr., Dayton, Ohio)++
WR-Kevin Walter, Eastern Michigan (Jr., Libertyville, Ill.)&&
QB-Byron Leftwich, Marshall (Sr., Washington, D.C.)++
RB-Michael Turner, Northern Illinois (Jr., North Chicago, Ill.)
RB-Marcus Merriweather, Ball State (Sr., Fort Wayne, Ind.)++
RB-Chad Brinker, Ohio (Sr., Martins Ferry, Ohio)
PK-Jared Parseghian, Miami (So., Sylvania, Ohio)

First Team Defense
OLB-Larry Williams, Northern Illinois (Sr., Chicago, Ill.)&&
OLB-Matt Robillard, Miami (Sr., Milford, Conn.)++
ILB-Tom Ward, Toledo (Sr., Defiance, Ohio)
ILB-David Gardner, Toledo (Sr., Ellwood, Pa.)
DL-Jason Babin, Western Michigan (Jr., Paw Paw, Mich.)##
DL-Chris Browning, Western Michigan (Sr., Batavia, Ill.)
DL-Elton Patterson, UCF (Sr., Tallahassee, Fla.)
DL- Travis Moore, Northern Illinois (So., Robbins, Ill.)
DB-Vince Thompson, Northern Illinois (Sr., Chicago, Ill.)++
DB- Randee Drew, Northern Illinois (Jr., Milwaukee, Wis.)
DB-Asante Samuel, UCF, (Sr., Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.)
DB-Atari Bigby, UCF (So., Miami, Fla.)
P-Curtis Head, Marshall (Jr., Shelbyville, Ky.)##

Second Team Offense
(tie)TE-Craig Bartoszek, Buffalo (Sr., Salamanca, N.Y.)&&
(tie)TE-Matt Dunker, Northern Illinois (Sr., Marengo, Ill.)
C-Todd Ghilani, Northern Illinois (Jr., Elkhorn, Wis.)
OL-David Miller, Ball State (Sr., Goshen, Ind.)
OL-Dennis Wendel, Bowling Green (Sr., St. Henry, Ohio)
OL-Stephen Peretta, Marshall (Sr., Garden City, N.Y.)##
OL-Erik Faasen, Toledo (Jr., Belding, Mich.)
WR-Jimmy Fryzel, UCF (Sr., Lakeland, Fla.)
WR-Doug Gabriel, UCF (Sr., Orlando, Fla.)
WR-Carl Ford, Toledo (Sr., Monroe, Mich.)
QB-Ben Roethlisberger, Miami (So., Findlay, Ohio)##
RB-Robbie Mixon, Central Michigan (Sr., Detroit, Mich.)
RB-Ime Akpan, Eastern Michigan (Sr., Novi, Mich.)
RB-Luke Clemens, Miami (Jr., Dayton, Ohio)
PK-Steve Azar, Northern Illinois (So., Colorado Springs, Colo.)++^^

Second Team Defense
OLB-Justin Beriault, Ball State (So., Indianapolis, Ind.)
OLB-Brian Atkinson, Northern Illinois (So. Chicago, Ill.)
ILB-Chris Haneline, Bowling Green (Sr., North Olmsted, Ohio)
ILB-Nick Duffy, Northern Illinois (Jr., Wheaton, Ill.)
DL-Alex Glantzis, Bowling Green (Sr., Mentor, Ohio)
DL-Orlando Washington, Marshall (Jr., Accoville, W.Va.)##
DL-Jamus Martin, Marshall (So., Martinsville, W.Va.)
DL-Toriano Brown, Marshall (Jr., Batesville, Miss.)
DB-Janssen Patton, Bowling Green (Jr., Stone Mountain, Ga.)##
DB-Chris Crocker, Marshall (Sr., Chesapeake, Va.)++
DB-Bop White, Ohio (Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio)
DB-Brandon Hefflin, Toledo (Jr., Pittsburgh, Pa.)
(tie) P-Ryan Flinn, UCF (Sr., Lehigh Acres, Fla.)
(tie) P-David Rysko, Eastern Michigan (Jr., Rockford, Mich.)

Honorable Mention
(top four remaining vote totals for a total of 60 all-MAC selections)
WR-Josh Davis, Marshall (So., Hickory Grove, S.C.)
OLB-Keon Jackson, Toledo (Fr., East Chicago, Ind.)
ILB-Duran Smith, Marshall (Sr., Soddy-Daisy, Tenn.)
ILB-Bryan Lape, Western Michigan (Sr., Jackson, Mich.)

++(2001 first-team all-MAC), ## (2001 second-team all-MAC), && (2001 honorable mention all-MAC), $$ (2000 first-team all-MAC), ^^ (2000 honorable mention all-MAC),