Marshall Football Has Five Named to C-USA Coaches Team

Dec. 4, 2007

IRVING, Texas - Five Marshall University football players received All-Conference USA honors from the league's coaches Tuesday as senior Doug Legursky was voted to the first-team, safety C.J. Spillman and tight end Cody Slate were voted to the second team and freshmen Darius Marshall and Josh Evans were selected for the All-Freshman Team.

This is the fourth consecutive all-conference selection for Legursky, who was named to the first-team All-Media list already this season. For his career, Legursky started 36 consecutive games under center for the Herd was a 2006 first-team and 2005 second-team honoree. He is a three-time Rimington Trophy Watch List selection that will play in this January's Hula Bowl.

Spillman, a junior from Louisville, Ky., ended the season with 131 stops to lead the Marshall defense. He also forced three fumbles and registered 2.5 tackles for loss. Spillman's 10.2 tackles per game average tied him for third in C-USA and 11th in the nation in that category.

Slate, a sophomore, led all C-USA tight ends in receiving with 66 catches for 818 yards and five touchdowns. A two-time All-Conference USA selection, Slate ranked third in the nation in receiving yards among tight ends.

Marshall, a true freshman, led the Herd and all freshmen in C-USA with 631 rushing yards and three touchdowns.

Evans, a native of Fayetteville, W.Va., started all 12 games at left guard for the Herd in his first collegiate season.