Marshall Picked Eighth and Ninth, in Preseason MAC Men's and Women's Golf Polls

Marshall Picked Eighth and Ninth, in Preseason MAC Men's and Women's Golf Polls


In voting conducted by league head coaches, the Toledo men's team and the Kent State women's golf team have been tabbed to win the 2003 MAC Championship.

Toledo received all 10 first place votes while KSU earned the nod from all nine of the women's coaches.

Marshall's men were picked to finish eighth and Marshall's women were selected to finish ninth.

The Rockets men's squad returns three players key to last year's MAC Championship team - Brad Heaven, Sean McTeman and David Jones. All three finished in the Top 10 last year at the league tournament held at the Medallion Club in Westerville, Ohio. McTeman finished second after a playoff loss to medalist Eric Phipps of Miami, Heaven was eighth and Jones tied for ninth. In November, Heaven sharpened his game with an eighth place finish at the Western Refining Collegiate All-American Classic in El Paso. He followed that outing with a 27th place finish at the New Zealand Open.

The Golden Flashes women's team also has three solid returnees from their team that ran away with the league championship trophy by 66 strokes over runner-up Ohio. MAC Women's Golfer of the Year and 2002 MAC Championship medalist Marina Gillen, 2002 MAC Freshman of the Year and fourth place finisher Gabby Wedding, and 11th place finisher Veronique Drouin all are back for the Golden Flashes. Gillen also tied for 13th at last year's NCAA Championship, the highest top individual not from a team.

Following Toledo in the men's poll were 2. Miami; 3. Kent State; 4. Eastern Michigan; 5. Ohio; 6. Bowling Green; 7. Ball State; 8. Marshall; 9. Akron; 10. Northern Illinois.

On the women's side, Kent State was followed by 2. Toledo; 3. Western Michigan; t-4. Eastern Michigan; t-4. Ohio; 6. Bowling Green; 7. Ball State; 8. Northern Illinois; 9. Marshall.

Marshall's top men's finisher in the MAC Championship , Burke Spensky, and the Thundering Herd's lone senior is taking a medical red-shirt leaving the Herd with a roster filled with underclassmen.

Marshall is in its first year sponsoring women's golf and has a roster of five freshmen.

The women's championship is scheduled for April 25-27 at Walden Pond in Hamilton, Ohio.

The men's title chase will conclude May 1-3 at Sugar Grove, Ill., at Rich Harvest Farms.