Skip to main content Skip to footer

Marshall Finishes 12th in Irish Creek Collegiate

Jeremy Rogers improved four strokes from round two to three.

April 7, 2013

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

KANNAPOLIS, N.C. – Following the third and final round of the Irish Creek Collegiate, Marshall men’s golf finished 12th after shooting a 299 on day three to score a combined tally of 882 (+30) for the tournament.

“We really got off to a tough start today, but I am really happy with the way we finished,” head coach Matt Grobe said following the conclusion of the tournament. “Our hope is that this is something we can build on going into conference championships in two weeks.”

Nathan Kerns recorded three birdies in a row in the front nine of the final round and finished the day with a 73 (+2) to tie for 23rd individually. He posted a 218 (+5) combined score for the tournament.  

Brian Anania fell back in the final round, shooting a 79 on day three after starting the first two rounds with a score of 73 and 70. He placed tied for 35th individually after combining for a 222 in the three-round event.

Tas Sipowski only shot one stroke worse than Anania, recording a 223 for the tournament to place him tied for 41st. He totaled a 75 (+4) in the third round. Logan Lagodich followed closely behind Sipowski, shooting a 224 for the tournament to place tied for 47th individually. He shot a 77 (+6) on the final day.

Jeremy Rogers saved his best golf for the final round, shooting a 74 after posting a 79 and 78 in the first two rounds. He placed tied for 78th individually, shooting a 231 for the tournament.

After controlling the lead in rounds one and two, North Carolina held on to win the tournament title after tallying a team score of 859 (+7). Kennesaw State’s Jimmy Beck took home the individual title, shooting a 68 in the final round to finish the tournament with a combined score of 205 (-8).

The Irish Creek Collegiate was the final regular season tournament for the men’s golf team. The Herd will travel to Texarkana, Ark. for the Conference USA Championship on April 21.