Skip to main content Skip to footer

Robinson Named to Conference USA All-Freshman Team

Robinson is the second Marshall golfer ever to be selected to the C-USA All-Freshman Team.

May 6, 2014

IRVING, Texas - Clark Robinson (South Windsor, Conn.) became the second Marshall golfer ever to be selected to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team, the league announced Tuesday. C-USA announced its 2014 men's golf all-conference teams and specialty award winners following a vote by the league's head coaches.

This season, Robinson secured the best freshman scoring average in Herd history at 73.21, almost a full stroke better than Christian Brand's average of 74.1 in 2007. Brand is the only other Marshall golfer to receive Conference USA All-Freshman Team honors after being named 2007 Freshman of the Year. Robinson's average also is the fourth-best in a single season in the Herd record book, ranking second on this season's roster behind senior Brian Anania's 72.48.

"I am so happy for Clark," coach Matt Grobe said. "He had an outstanding freshman campaign. I never imagined him coming in and winning during his third-ever collegiate event. He is a very special player and I am looking forward to watching him progress for the next three years."

One of the many highlights of this season for the freshman was a 66 in the final round at the Patriot Intercollegiate to secure his first career victory (Sept. 29). He is one of only eight Marshall golfers to shoot a 66, the second-lowest round in Herd history behind Linden Meade's 63 at the 1958 Mid-American Conference Championship. Robinson is also one of 18 players to card an individual victory at Marshall. Robinson secured five top-10 finishes this season and placed in the top 25 in six of nine tournaments played.

Additionally, Robinson was named Conference USA Golfer of the Week (Oct. 2) - as well as Marshall Student-Athlete of the Week - after his championship performance at the Patriot Intercollegiate. He became the third freshman in Marshall's C-USA history (dating to 2005-06) to receive a C-USA weekly recognition (Nathan Kerns in 2009-10, and Christian Brand in 2006-07).



Robinson's efforts also have contributed to a Herd-record three team titles this season: at the John Piper Intercollegiate (Sept. 17), the Patriot Intercollegiate (Sept. 29) and most recently at the inaugural Greenbrier Collegiate Invitational (April 15).

2014 All-Conference USA Men's Golf Awards

Golfer of the Year: Paul Dunne, UAB

Freshman of the Year: Kevin Reilly, Rice

Newcomer of the Year: Wes Conover, East Carolina

Coach of the Year: Justin Emil, Rice


All-Conference USA First Team

Franco Castro, Charlotte

Brett Patterson, Middle Tennessee

Logan McCracken, Tulsa

Paul Dunne, UAB

Wilson McDonald, UAB


All-Conference USA Second Team

Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech

Kevin Reilly, Rice

Matt Mabrey, Tulsa

Sam Love, UAB

Martin Rowher, UAB


All-Conference USA Freshman Team

Connor O'Rourke, Florida Atlantic

Clark Robinson, Marshall

Kevin Reilly, Rice

Frederik Dreier, UTEP

Bryce Alley, UTSA