Dawes and Jackson Named 2009-10 MU Athletes of the Year

Sept. 15, 2010

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. - Andrea Jackson of the Marshall University women's track & field team has been named the 2009-10 recipient of the Dr. Dorothy Hicks Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award, while Dustin Dawes of men's soccer was selected as the winner of the Ed Starling Male Student-Athlete of the Year.


The Dr. Dorothy Hicks and Ed Starling awards are given to the best all-around Marshall University male and female student-athletes who demonstrate athletic excellence, as well as leadership and sportsmanship.


Jackson, arguably the most decorated MU track & field athlete ever, had a record-breaking senior season. She became the first ever Marshall NCAA Indoor National Provisional Qualifier when she reset her own triple jump school record with a distance of 42-02 feet.


While posting her new school record, the Sumter, S.C., native registered the16th best jump in the nation.




Jackson took first place at five invitationals, including the Duke Invitational and the Hurricane Invitational. She finished second in the triple jump at both the Conference USA Indoor and Outdoor Championships.  


A May, 2010 graduate, Jackson left Marshall with a degree in business management and minor in psychology.


Dawes had a breakout senior season for the Thundering Herd on the pitch, guiding MU to the C-USA title game. The Nashville, Tenn., native led the team in goals with seven and in points with 16.


Dustin Dawes


His ability to score clutch goals was an area where Dawes excelled. Dawes led all of Conference USA in game-winning goals as he tallied the decisive mark four times in 2009.


The center midfielder was a First-Team All-Conference USA selection, as well as a member of the C-USA All-Academic Team.  Most impressively, Dawes was the first ever Marshall men's soccer player named to the First-Team All-Midwest Region. 


Dawes graduated in May, 2010, with a degree in business finance.


Jackson and Dawes will be honored during the first quarter of the Marshall vs. Ohio football game on Sept. 25.