Skip to main content Skip to footer

Withrow Named C-USA Player of the Year

Withrow is Marshall's first-ever C-USA Player of the Year

Nov. 6, 2012

IRVING, Texas – Senior goalkeeper Daniel Withrow of the Marshall University men’s soccer team was named Co-Conference USA Player of the Year on Tuesday, while Tom Jackson, Devin Perkins, and Jack Hopkins received places on the C-USA Second, Third, and All-Freshman teams, respectively.

Withrow, a native of Rochester Hills, Mich., becomes Marshall’s first-ever C-USA Player of the Year following a stellar season that saw him break the school records for single-season and career shutouts. His 9.5 clean sheets and .52 goals against average were the best marks in the league and fifth-best in the entire nation. As a result of being voted C-USA Player of the Year, Withrow also received a spot on the C-USA First Team.

“We’re thrilled for Daniel,” said head coach Bob Gray. “He had a tremendous career here at Marshall and broke all kinds of records. Certainly he’s a guy who’s been a rock for this team over the past four years, as evidenced by the previous awards he’s won. For him, this recognition is just the icing on the cake. In my opinion he’s without a doubt the best goalkeeper in the country and hopefully he’ll go on to have a good professional career.”

Withrow was not the only member of the Thundering Herd to receive honors on Friday, though, as three other Marshall players claimed spots on the remaining all-conference teams.

Senior forward Tom Jackson earned C-USA Second Team honors for the second year in a row after scoring a team-leading 8 goals in 14 games this fall. His tally was fifth-best in the league and moved the New Zealand native into the top-five for career points and goals in the Marshall record books.



Another senior, Devin Perkins, received honors with a spot on the C-USA Third Team. Despite not appearing on the stat sheet in goals or assists this year, Perkins was the heart and soul of the Marshall midfield as he captained the team to an 11-5-1 record that was the third-best in program history.

Jack Hopkins, who scored back-to-back golden goals for the Herd in wins over Radford and Memphis, was selected to the C-USA All-Freshman team after appearing in all 17 games with 10 starts. His four goals ranked second on the team behind Jackson.

“I’m happy for the other three players who made the all-conference teams as well,” continued Gray. “Tom probably would have been a first-team selection had he not missed three conference games due to injury this season. I’m also thrilled for Devin to get all-conference. He is a perfect example of a guy who’s worked hard every season and played with the biggest heart on the team. He was the engine that made the team go. As for Jack, in my opinion he was a lock to make the all-freshman team after scoring two game-winners in overtime and playing a ton of minutes for us this season. All of these guys are definitely deserving of the honors.”

Along with Withrow, SMU goalkeeper Jaime Ibarra was named Co-C-USA Player of the Year for leading the Mustangs to a regular season championship. Memphis’s Mark Sherrod received Offensive Player of the Year honors, and Ibarra was further tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. Tulsa’s Christian Mata was named Freshman of the Year after finishing second in the league with 12 goals.

For the official conference release and complete listings of this year’s C-USA teams, please click the link below.

Official Release