Skip to main content Skip to footer

Byron Carmichael Named First-Team All-MAC for Men's Soccer

Byron Carmichael Named First-Team All-MAC for Men's Soccer


Cleveland, Ohio-Junior forward Byron Carmichael was named first-team All-Mid-American Conference for the second consecutive season today.

Carmichael finished the season with 15 goals and 33 points, both tops in the conference. This year, Carmichael became Marshall?s all-time career goals scorer when he passed Andy Zulauf (1981-1985). He now has 43 career goals.

Four players from Marshall highlighted the second team. Defenders Wayne Bennett and Dennis Ahebwa were selected to the team, along with midfielders Firas Al-Samarraie and Brent Sobczak. The five all-conference selections are the most in team history.

The University of Kentucky, who finished the conference season with a 6-0 record, swept the player of the year, coach of the year and newcomer of the year awards. Ilkka Jantti was named MAC Player of the Year, John Monebrake earned MAC Newcomer of the Year and head coach Ian Collins was named Gary V. Palmisano Coach of the Year.

Marshall?s season ended with a 2-1 loss to the University of Akron in the semifinals of the MAC tournament. Kentucky and Akron meet this weekend in the MAC Championship game.

GK-Kyle Milligan, Akron
F-Torbjorn Birkeland, Akron
F-John Monebrake, Kentucky
F-Byron Carmichael, Marshall
D-Tony Malik, Bowling Green
D-Ilkka Jantti, Kentucky
D-Peter Agrimson, Northern Illinois
MF-Orjan Bjaneso, Akron
MF-Mike Peplinski, Buffalo
MF-Nathan Fleetwood, Kentucky
MF-Antti Peltonen, Kentucky

GK-Greg Raber, Kentucky
F-Tim Cooper, Akron
F-Detrick Matthews, Bowling Green
F-Scott Duhl, Western Michigan*
F-Reece Richardson, Western Michigan*
D-Cameron Knowles, Akron*
D-David Senn, Akron*
D-Bill Norberg, Buffalo
D-Wayne Bennett, Marshall
D-Dennis Ahewba, Marshall*
MF-Hans Jorgen Haugland, Akron
MF-J.D. Stephenson, Kentucky
MF-Firas Al-Sammarrie, Marshall
MF-Brent Sobczak, Marshall*
MF-Mike Bravo, Western Michigan*

*denotes tie in voting