Women's Basketball to Open 2007 Preseason WNIT at Evansville

June 13, 2007

2007 Preseason WNIT Bracket
Download Free Acrobat Reader

FORT COLLINS, Colo. - The Marshall University women's basketball team will open the 2007-08 season in Evansville, Ind., on Nov. 9 when it faces the University of Evansville in the first round of the 2007 Preseason Women's National Invitation Tournament (WNIT). The 16-team bracket, featuring the Thundering Herd for the first time in event history, was announced today by WNIT officials.

The season-opening tournament introduces a new format in 2007, the 14th season of the event, moving from single elimination to a three-game guarantee format. Following first-round play on Nov. 9, round two will be Nov. 11-13 with the semifinals occurring Nov. 14-15. The championship will be played on Nov. 18. The consolation bracket quads, two four-team pools featuring first round losers, will be played Nov. 16-17. Round two losers will play their final game Nov. 16 or 17 at separate sites.

"We're very excited and honored to be playing in the most prestigious preseason basketball tournament in the country," Marshall head coach Royce Chadwick said. "We'll be ready to go on November 9 in Evansville."

The entire tournament will be played exclusively on participating school campuses around the country, determined after each round.

Should the Herd defeat the Purple Aces in the first ever meeting between the two schools, Marshall would face the winner of the IUPUI-Michigan State contest in the quarterfinals. A complete bracket can be viewed by clicking the link above.

Evansville, 19-12 last season, finished fourth overall in the Missouri Valley Conference. The Purple Aces' Rebekah Parker, an All-MVC performer and returning senior guard, led UE in scoring, rebounding, assists and steals in 2006-07 - one of only two players in Division I to pace her team in all four categories.

Marshall (15-15 in 2006-07) returns eight letterwinners and three starters from a year ago. The opener at Evansville will mark the second straight year that the Herd will begin its season on the road, after opening the previous four seasons at the Cam Henderson Center.

The Preseason WNIT field features nine teams that are coming off postseason play in 2006-07 and seven teams that were ranked in the national polls last year. LSU advanced to the Final Four last season while Maryland claimed the 2006 national championship.

Marshall is one of nine teams that will participate in the tournament for the first time.

First Round Preseason WNIT Schedule (Times TBA)
(2006-07 record in parentheses)

Friday, Nov. 9, 2007
Princeton (13-15) at Maryland (28-6)
Delaware State (20-13) at Delaware (26-6)
East Tennessee State (20-12) at Western Kentucky (23-9)
Miami-Ohio (12-18) at Notre Dame (20-12)
Samford (18-13) at LSU (30-8)
Radford (20-10) at TCU (21-11)
Marshall (15-15) at Evansville (19-12)
IUPUI (14-16) at Michigan State (24-9)