Skip to main content Skip to footer

Simsiriwong Ties for Seventh as the Herd Concludes C-USA Championships

Korakot Simsiriwong placed seventh in her first ever C-USA championships.

Final Results: Combo | Individual | Team

April 26, 2012

GULF SHORES, Ala. - Marshall women's golf closed the 2012 season with an eighth place finish in the Conference USA championships on Wednesday after combining for a 949 team stroke tally.

The three-round tournament played host to 10 Conference USA teams and lasted from Monday to Wednesday at the Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club golf course in Gulf Shores, Ala.

Freshman golfer Korakot Simsiriwong tied for seventh in her first ever league championship. The Thailand native shot a team-low 74 in round two and three and combined for a 224 score to put her eight over par for the tournament.

"We are making strides and feel we can continue to climb the ladder in C-USA," said head coach Meredith Knight Rowsey. The team has pushed through a lot this spring and I'm proud of the effort that has been put into this season. A tournament win in the fall, a sophomore winning that event, and a freshman tying seventh in the conference tournament."

Sophomores Rachel Thompson and Allison Harper followed Simirwong's efforts with a combined score of 232 and tied for 21st individually. The two golfers shot an impressive plus-16 for the championship

The Morrone twins rounded up the Herd effort, placing 47th and 49th individually. Caitlyn Morrone finished the tournament with a 262, while Kristyn Morrone finished the three rounds with a 276.

"I have a fun group of great young women," continued Rowsey. "We have next year to look forward to knowing they are all returning after what I know will be a productive summer."

The Herd finished only five shots away from reigning champs UTEP and had one of its best finishes in women's golf history for conference championship play.

Tulsa took home the championship title after finishing the tournament with a team score of 884, going 20 over par in the three rounds. Individually, Tulane's Maribel Porras-Lopez went even with a score of 216 to earn the individual trophy.