Women's Golf to Compete at Lady Buckeye Spring Invitational

Women's Golf to Compete at Lady Buckeye Spring Invitational


COLUMBUS, Ohio ? The Ohio State University Scarlet Course will serve as the backdrop for the Marshall women?s golf team?s final tournament of the spring season before the Mid-American Conference championships next weekend. Fifteen teams will take part in the 25th Lady Buckeye Spring Invitational, which is a 54-hole event over two days, beginning on Saturday.

The first round will begin with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start on Saturday with second-round action starting immediately after. The final round is scheduled to begin with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start on Sunday.

The 15-team field consists of Bowling Green, Eastern Michigan, Indiana, Kent State, Marshall, Michigan State, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Ohio, Penn State, Purdue, Toledo and Western Michigan. The host Buckeyes are ranked No. 10 in the nation according to the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index. Purdue (34th), Kent State (36th), Northwestern (44th) and Michigan State (47th) are the other teams in the tournament ranked in the top-50.

The Marshall contingent this weekend consists of Amber Churchill (Dublin, Ohio), Tammy Mahar (Ashland, Ky.), Allyson Hatcher (Wheeling, W.Va.), Stacy Wagner (Harmony, Pa.), Whitney Wolejko (Hatfield, Mass.) and Sheena Caron (Bolt, W.Va.). Churchill paces Marshall with a 76.54 stroke average, with a season-low round of 71 in the first tournament of the spring in Rio Verde, Ariz.

In its last time out, the Herd scored a third-place finish at the Indiana Invitational. Individually, Churchill tallied a career-best third place honor at the event.

The Lady Buckeye Spring Invitational is played on the OSU Scarlet Course, a par-72, 6,201-yard course. Ohio State?s 1998 team holds the team record for lowest score (881) in a 54-hole format. OSU senior Kristen White (2003) and former Buckeye Bethany Overstake (1998) hold the record for best individual score with a 214.

OSU is the defending champions of the tournament, winning the event the last time it was played, in 2003.