Softball Elects 2011 Team Captains

Jan. 17, 2011

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.- In preparation of the 2011 season, the Marshall University softball team voted for its team captains. Chosen to guide the Herd are: Melanie Stoehr, Jazmine Valle and Andi Williamson.

“I believe their peers got it right in voting them team captains,” said head coach Shonda Stanton. “Melanie provides the reason, Jazmine the emotion and Andi the fire; three distinct personalities with one common goal.”

Melanie Stoehr | Sr. | C/1B
“Mel is the epitome of a student-athlete and I hope we send her out right this season,” said Stanton. “She understand the pride and tradition of Marshall softball and is doing all she can to propel the Herd back to the top of Conference USA.”

Stoehr’s Trophy Case
2010 C-USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll
2010 C-USA Academic Medalist
2010 C-USA All-Academic Team
2010 NFCA Scholar Athlete
2010 ESPN/CoSIDA Academic All-District Team
2009 NFCA Mideast Region First Team
2009 C-USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll
2009 C-USA Spirit of Service Award winner
2009 NFCA Scholar Athlete
2008 C-USA All-Freshmen Team
2008 C-USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll
2008 NFCA Scholar Athlete



Jazmine Valle | So. | 3B
“Jaz has earned the respect of her teammates as an all-conference performer in her freshman campaign,” Stanton said. “Her passion and enthusiasm for the game is contagious and makes her an integral part of our program.”

Valle’s Trophy Case
2010 C-USA All-Conference Second Team
2010 C-USA Hitter of the Week, April 12-18
2010 Marshall University Student-Athlete of the Week, March 30
2010 Marshall University Student-Athlete of the Week, April 20

Andi Williamson | So. | RHP
“Transferring in, Andi quickly established herself as a competitor determined to push herself and teammates to reach their full potential,” said Stanton. “She expects everyone’s best effort and will be a difference maker.”

Williamson’s Trophy Case
Member of the 2010 Tennessee softball team that finished third at the Women’s College World Series
2009 EA Sports First Team Softball All-American
2009 Gatorade/Rise Magazine West Virginia State Player of the Year
2009 West Virginia Sports Writers State Player of the Year

The Thundering Herd begins the 2011 campaign at the South Florida Wilson-DeMarini Tournament from Feb. 11-13. MU fans can follow the entire season on through GameTracker and CBS All-Access.