Skip to main content Skip to footer

Gamby Chosen for USA Softball Selection Camp

Gamby is the first Marshall player to be selected to a USA Softball selection camp.

May 17, 2012

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America has announced that Marshall’s Rebecca Gamby has accepted an invitation to participate in the USA Softball Women’s National Team Selection Camp to be held June 10-12 in Ashland, Ohio.

Gamby will be among 21 athletes that will be competing for one of the five remaining roster spots on the 2012 USA Softball Women’s National Team roster. 12 athletes have already been named to the National Team roster. The full roster will be announced on Wednesday, June 13.

The Ohio native led Marshall in batting average with a career high mark of .348 and runs batted in with 31. She also collected 56 hits and twelve doubles, both second of the team.

Gamby is the first Thundering Herd player selected for a USA Softball selection camp.

“This is an incredible honor to be chosen as a USA National Team participant,” Herd softball coach Shonda Stanton said of Gamby’s selection. “Such a limited number of athletes have the privilege of this opportunity in any sport. Gamby has been an incredible ambassador for Marshall and our program.”

“I am so proud of the impact she has made and look forward to the possibilities that lie ahead for her.”

The 17 athletes selected to the USA Softball roster will compete in six different events in the United States and Canada. The remaining athletes who are not selected to the Women’s National Team will make up the 2012 USA Softball Women’s Elite National Team and will face the National Team in exhibition play.

The two U.S. squads will be competing in two exhibition doubleheaders. The first doubleheader between the two will be June 14 at 6 p.m. in Summersville, W.Va. at the Nicholas County Veterans Memorial Park. The second doubleheader is on June 18 at 6 p.m. in Ashland, Ohio.

The National Team will be competing in both the Title IX 40th Anniversary Celebration Game against Canada on June 23 and the World Cup of Softball VII presented by Lumber Liquidators, June 27- July 2, in Oklahoma City. A full team schedule along with details about tickets to each event can be found by clicking here

The 12 athletes who were named to the 2012 USA Softball Women’s National Team in January are Valerie Arioto (Pleasanton, Calif./Cal senior), Kaitlin Cochran (Yorba Linda, Calif./Arizona State 2009), Lauren Gibson (Pasadena, Md./Tennessee junior), Ashley Holcombe (Fayetteville, Ga./Alabama 2009), Molly Johnson (Tucson, Ariz./Kentucky 2010), Stacy May-Johnson (Reno, Nev./Iowa 2006), Jenae Leles (Sacramento, Calif./Arizona 2009), Michelle Moultrie (Jacksonville, Fla./Florida senior), Keilani Ricketts (San Jose, Calif./Oklahoma junior), Jordan Taylor (Valencia, Calif./Michigan 2011), Rhea Taylor (Buford, Ga./Missouri 2011) and Chelsea Thomas (Pleasantville, Iowa/Missouri junior)

The 21 athletes who have accepted an invitation to try-out for the remaining spots on the Women’s National Team and the 2012 USA Softball Women’s Elite National Team are:

Lexy Bennett (Kingwood, Texas/Texas senior)
Katelyn Boyd (Phoenix, Ariz. /Arizona State senior)
Elizabeth Caporuscio (Lake Arrowhead, Calif. /Arizona State freshman)
Lauren Chamberlain (Trabuco Canyon, Calif. /Oklahoma freshman)
Amanda Chidester  (Allen Park, Mich./Michigan senior)
Dallas Escobedo  (Glendale, Ariz./Arizona State sophomore)
Sam Fischer (Simi Valley, Calif. /Loyola Marymount senior)
Kenzie Fowler (Tucson, Ariz. /Arizona junior)
Rebecca Gamby (Mount Victory, Ohio/Marshall senior)
Jolene Henderson (Elk Grove, Calif. /California junior)
Taylor Hoagland (Flower Mound, Texas/Texas junior)
Kaitlin Inglesby (Portland, Ore. /Washington sophomore)
Destinee Martinez (Corona, Calif. /Oklahoma sophomore)
Meagan May (Spring, Texas/Texas A&M junior)
Sara Nevins (Pinellas Park, Fla. /South Florida sophomore)
Christi Orgeron (New Orleans, La. /Louisiana Lafayette senior)
Ellen Renfroe (Jackson, Tenn. /Tennessee sophomore)
Janine Richardson (Auburndale, Fla. /South Florida senior)
Madison Shipman (Valencia, Calif. /Tennessee sophomore)
Jessica Shults (Valencia, Calif. /Oklahoma junior)
Lindsey Ziegenhirt (Elk Grove, Calif. /California junior)