Skip to main content Skip to footer

Herd Advances 11 To Final Session at Conference USA Championships

Caroline Wanner
Caroline Wanner
Feb. 24, 2018

Live Stream (ESPN3): Day Four

Live Results | Meet Schedule

ATLANTA—Marshall Swimming & Diving advanced 11 to Saturday night finals during day four preliminaries at the 2018 C-USA Swimming & Diving Championships. 

Marshall Divers led the way with Maddie Young qualifying 8th on Platform Diving with a lifetime best score of 183.25. Her score is the third best Platform performance in Marshall program history.

During the afternoon preliminaries, the Consolation Final was contested and Sarah McGlumphy finished 11th. Her score of 145.50 is the 10th best in Marshall school history. Teammate Bailey Basham finished 13th with 131.25 points.

Caroline Wanner matched her lifetime best to the one-hundredth of a second to qualify sixth for tonight’s final in the 200 Backstroke. Jordyn O’Dell advanced in the 10th slot in 2:03.05.

Four Thundering Herd Swimmers posted lifetime best times in the 100 Freestyle. Catherine Bendziewicz swam in 50.52, qualifying in a tie for 6th. Her time is the third fastest in school history. 

In the Consolation Final, Darby Coles set her personal best in 51.05 for 12th. Her time is now the fifth fastest Marshall swim ever. Additionally in the event, Hannah Robins swam in 51.31, her best and the seventh Marshall best in school history.



Rachel DePietro also swam a lifetime best in the event, finishing 21st in 52.17. 

Emma Lockyer set the third fastest Marshall time ever qualifying eighth in the 200 Breaststroke with a time of 2:16.93.

Marshall had one-up and one-down in the 200 Butterfly. Shir Wasserman is seventh, qualifying in 2:04.03. Madeline Schaffer finished 10th in 2:04.23 and will swim tonight in the Consolation Final.

Also competing this morning but not advancing in the scoring finals were:

200 Backstroke

Madi Pulfer 2:06.32


100 Freestyle

Lauren Cowher 52.06

Maggie Stovall 52.32

Kristine Sullivan 53.64

200 Breaststroke

Rachel Hughes 2:26.25

Justine Jagga 2:27.30

200 Butterfly

Brittany Wilkerson 2:10.34