Skip to main content Skip to footer

Nine Marshall Swimmers to Compete in Final Session of Zippy Invite

Senior Sarah Kay was the highest qualifier for the Herd in preliminaries.

Dec. 8, 2013

Akron, Ohio - Six Marshall swimmers advanced to finals and three will compete in the timed final 1,650 freestyle at 4 p.m. in the last session of the Zippy Invitational at the University of Akron.

Senior Sarah Kay (Cape Town, South Africa) was the highest qualifier for Marshall's swimming and diving team, clocking a 2:04.99 in the 200 butterfly.

Senior Madison Lawhorn (Baltimore, Ohio) was 10th with a lifetime best time of 2:24.96 in the 200 breaststroke. She will be joined by senior Heather Moore (Roswell, Ga.) and freshman Teel Hartmann (Louisville, Ky.), both qualifying 17th and 22nd, respectively. Moore swam a 2:28.52, while Hartmann finished with a time of 2:31.24, both season bests.

In the 200 backstroke, senior Vera Niemeyer (Wuerselen, Germany) and freshman Bree Mury (Round Rock, Texas) will race in the Consolation Final. Niemeyer finished 10th with a season best 2:07.56 and Mury tied for 12th with a season best 2:08.37.

Senior Tiffany Aeling (Columbus, Ohio) and juniors Kaley Gregory (Hurricane, W.Va.) and Kacey Preun (St. Andrews, Mantitoba, Canada) will compete in the Timed Final 1,650 freestyle at 4 p.m.

"We could have been much better this morning," coach Bill Tramel said. "We did not execute our races, as well as we have the past two days. This was the hardest session. Every team is getting tired after four sessions of racing. The best teams are able to overcome adversity. That is the challenge we are facing. The good thing is we have nine more individual opportunities tonight. We are swimming well, but must re-focus so we can finish strong."



Swimming concludes tonight, the first event starting at 4 p.m.