Skip to main content Skip to footer

Herd Continues Record-Setting Meet, Posts Seven Season-Bests

Caroline Wanner
Caroline Wanner
Feb. 4, 2018

CHRISTIANSBURG, Va. — It only took 37 minutes, but in that timeframe Marshall swimmers posted seven season-bests and another lifetime-best time. Every Marshall swimmer qualified for finals tonight, with nine to compete in the championship final, which the top eight in each event qualified for.
Emma Lockyer qualified first in the 200 Breaststroke by almost two full seconds. Her time ranks as the fourth-fastest in Marshall history at 2:18.82. Rachel Hughes (seventh, 2:26.22) and Justine Jagga 8th (eighth, 2:26.43) rounded out the top eight and advanced to the championship final.
Caroline Wanner was the top qualifier in the 200 Backstroke. The Herd trio of Wanner (first, 2:01.99), Jordyn O’Dell (third, 2:03.61) and Madi Pulfer (sixth, 2:06.01) all qualified for the championship final.
In the 100 Freestyle, Darby Coles advanced in the fourth slot (52.07) and Maggie Stovall placed fifth (52.16).  In the Bonus Final tonight, Lauren Cowher qualified 18th in a season-best 53.93, and Rachael DePietro 19th (53.94), also a season best 53.94. Kristine Sullivan placed 20th (54.14).
In the last event of the morning, Shir Wasserman qualified as the third seed (2:04.87). In the Consolation Final, Maddie Schaffer is the top seed (ninth, 2:08.48), Hannah Robins is seeded 10th after swimming a season-best 2:09.19 and Brittany Wilkerson 12th (2:13.15).
The three-day meet concludes tonight with the finals start time moved up to 5 p.m.