Skip to main content Skip to footer

Herd's Ross Ties School Record at C-USA Swimming/Diving Championships

Marshall's Danica Ross

Feb. 21, 2013

Live Results!

HOUSTON, Tx.-Marshall's Danica Ross tied the school record in the prelims of the 50 freestyle to lead the Herd in the Thursday morning session of the 2013 Swimming/Diving Championships at the University of Houston Recreation and Wellness Center Natatorium.                                                   

Ross finished seventh in a time of 23.37, tying Milla Kuurto's mark from 2006, to advance to the finals of the event, which will be held later Thursday.

"We had a very good morning," said Marshall head coach Bill Tramel. "Eleven of our 15 swims were lifetime bests. Those that missed were very close, within tenths of a second. That's what this sport is about...improving one's self within the framework of a team."

"We have three swimmers (Kacey Preun, Kaley Gregory both in 500 Free & Ross) who advanced to finals tonight and our diver, Lauren Rone, also made the top eight in 3-meter diving," Tramel said. "We'll also have the 200 Free Relay tonight."

Rone finished sixth in the 3-meter competition.

In the 500 free prelims, Preun took 15th in a time of 4:58.12, while Gregory was 16th (4:58.79). Sarah Coghlin (21st, 5:01.50), Megan Clemens (25th, 5:03.25), Tiffany Aeling (26th, 5:06.07) and Victoria Mesner (31st, 5:11.18) also swam for the Herd.



Sarah Kay (17th, 2:08.30) and Arlie Rykosky (18th, 2:09.43) led the way for MU in the 200 IM prelims. Madison Lawhorn (20th, 2:10.67), Kelsey Ferguson (21st, 2:11.48) and Sarah Schimenti (23rd, 2:12.51) also posted times in the event.

Joining Ross in the 50 free were Lauren Hurd (24th, 24.22), Katie Kramer (30th, 25.13) and Alexandria Black (31st, 25.52).

"Danica's performance is quite an accomplishment for a freshman," said Tramel. "The exciting thing is that Danica is just getting started. We talked about how she can go faster tonight. Nevertheless, a school record is fantastic."

Tonight's evening session begins at 6 p.m. CT.