Skip to main content Skip to footer

Marshall Swimming and Diving Completes Friday Prelims

Feb. 24, 2017

ATLANTA – The Marshall swimming and diving team completed session four of seven this morning at the Conference USA Championships at the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center in Atlanta. 11 Thundering Herd student-athletes advanced to the championship finals and eight advanced to the consolation finals that begin tonight at 6 p.m.
“Another fine morning,” head coach Bill Tramel said. “Our divers were fantastic with three in the big final. I think we have many opportunities to win events tonight, and move up. A lot of us swam lifetime bests this morning and almost everyone advanced. We’ll have alumni in the stands tonight, so that will make it even more special.”
In the first event this morning, Marshall advanced all four of their 400 IM entries. Emma Lockyer led the way for the Herd with the second fastest qualifying time, 4:21.13, less than a half second behind the leader from Rice. Caroline Wanner and Maddie Schaffer join Lockyer in the championship final. Wanner qualified in fifth (4:23.27) and Schaffer was eighth (4:26.23). Teel Hartmann advanced in the 10th slot with a 4:30.95.
The 100 butterfly also had four Marshall swimmers advance. Chloe Parsemain qualified in fifth (54.41) and Gloriya Mavrova tied for sixth with a lifetime best, 54.75. Shir Wasserman moved on in the 12th position with a lifetime best, 55.77, and Hannah Robins qualified in 15th with a lifetime best, 56.12.
The 200 freestyle final tonight will include Thursday night’s 200 IM Champion, Catherine Bendziewicz.  Touching the wall at 1:48.46, Bendziewicz broke Marshall’s school record while qualifying third. In the consolation final, Maggie Stovall qualified in 12th (1:50.98), Angelica di Marzio was 13th (1:51.64) and Savannah Ruedt was 14th (1:51.67).
Lauren Cowher was the lone entry for Marshall in the 100 breast. She advances by finishing 12th with a time of 1:04.99.
The final swimming event of the morning brought another Marshall school record. Sirena Rowe is the number two qualifier with a time of 53.67, 0.30 behind the top qualifier, Olympian Naomi Ruele from FIU. Carin Ingram advances in the fifth position with a lifetime best, 54.92. The consolation final will include Jordyn O’Dell, who finished 11th at 56.43.
In the afternoon one meter diving, Marshall advanced three divers to the championship round tonight.  Megan Wolons qualified third with a score of 264.00, Kelly Toner was fifth at 240.20, and Madison Young advances to her first championship final with a score of 230.80. All three were career bests.

The C-USA Swimming and Diving Championships continues tonight, with the finals beginning at 6 p.m., and will be streamed live on ESPN3. For more information about the event, check out the C-USA Swimming and Diving Championship central page with live results, streaming info and more.