Skip to main content Skip to footer

Swimming and Diving 2012-13 Schedule Set

Lauren Rone was a NCAA Zone Diving Championship participant last year.

2012-13 Swimming and Diving Schedule

Aug. 10, 2012

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Swimming and Diving will begin its 2012-13 season by hosting the second annual West Virginia State Games as its schedule was announced Friday for the upcoming year.

First year head coach Bill Tramel will welcome six state schools to Frederick A. Fitch Natatorium for the West Virginia games on October 12 and 13, including West Virginia, the inaugural event champions.

The Thundering Herd will have four consecutive home events to begin the season. After the two day WV games, the first home meet for Tramel and his squad will be versus Youngstown State on October 19. Radford will head to Huntington on November 3. Marshall is a combined 20-0 against the two regional rivals in dual meets. Vanderbilt comes to Fitch Natatorium on November 10 to conclude the season opening home stretch.

After Thanksgiving, Tramel will take his ladies to Oxford, Ohio for the Miami University Invitational. The three day event runs from Thursday, November 29 to Saturday December 1.

The 2013 portion of the Herd’s schedule starts in Indianapolis, Indiana for a quad-meet with Ball State, Xavier and host IUPUI. Marshall hosts Ohio in its final home meet of the year on January 22.

The Herd will travel to Liberty January 26, looking to avenge a six point loss last. A meet at Duquesne on February 2 will be the final regular season event of the year.

Houston, Texas will host the Conference USA Championships February 20-23. The NCAA Zone A Diving Championships are in Piscataway, NJ March 15-17, while the NCAA Championships run from March 21-23 in Indianapolis, Ind.

Tramel’s first season comes on the heels of a 2011-12 season in which Marshall put together its best season record wise since joining C-USA. A seven win season included outstanding performances from swimmers Kacey Preun, Sarah Kay and diver Lauren Rone, a 2012 NCAA Zone Diving Championship participant. All four ladies will return to the water this season.