Skip to main content Skip to footer

Herd Tennis Receives Three C-USA Awards

Derya Turhan was named to the All-Conference USA singles second team

April 29, 2014

IRVING, Texas After having faced 10 ranked teams in dual matches this spring and posting an overall record of 14-8, the Marshall tennis team had six student-athletes reel in eight 2014 All-Conference USA honors, the league office announced Tuesday.

Sophomore Dana Oppinger (Weingarten, Germany), freshman Derya Turhan (Bad Salzuflen, Germany) and junior Kai Broomfield (Toronto, Canada) all made the All-C-USA singles second team. Rounding out the singles awards were freshman Anna Pomtinskaya (Sochi, Russia), senior Karli Timko (Houston, Pa.) and freshman Rachael Morales (Reynoldsburg, Ohio), all of which were third team selections. Marshall also took two doubles honors on the third team courtesy of Oppinger and Turhan, along with Pomyatinskaya and Timko.

The voting was done by C-USA coaches. Marshall now has 31 All-Conference USA tennis selections over the past nine seasons. C-USA champion Rice led the league with nine awards in 2014, followed by eight from the Thundering Herd.

"It is great for the team whenever you have people named to the All-Conference USA teams," Herd coach John Mercer said. "We had a good year and were one of the better teams in the conference. To see three freshman awarded after just one season is great to see since they improved during the season."

Oppinger led the lineup in the No. 1 spot and posted an overall mark of 9-13 this spring. Oppinger most recently defeated the No. 1 of No. 21 Tulsa (Yelena Nemchen) in the semifinals of the C-USA Championships.

Turhan was solid during her freshman campaign, posting an overall singles record of 12-10 while closing out the season with two straight singles wins. Settling into the lineup, Turhan went 2-2 in the No. 3 position, before becoming a consistent No. 2, where she went 10-8 with wins in matches against No. 56 BYU and No. 21 Tulsa.

Broomfield was solid as well in the heart of the Marshall singles rotation with a 13-9 record in the Nos. 2 and 3 spots. At No. 2, Broomfield went 2-2 and finished the year in the No. 3 spot with an 11-7 mark. Broomfield came up with key singles victories over No. 56 BYU, No. 63 Winthrop and No. 21 Tulsa.

Pomyatinskaya had the most wins among the Marshall singles lineup and the highest winning percentage as well off of her 16-6 record. In the No. 4 spot, she posted a mark of 14-6, while going 2-0 in the No. 5 position. The freshman collected singles wins over the likes of No. 38 Utah and No. 58 Louisville.

The lone senior in 2014, Timko finished 14-7 in her final spring season, having gone 12-7 in the No. 5 position and 2-0 at the four. Singles wins over No. 65 Minnesota and No. 58 Louisville highlighted Timko's spring.

Morales, the third freshman to collect an honor, finished her first year with a 14-7 overall mark, 13-7 in the No. 6 position for the Herd. Morales collected singles victories against No. 48 Indiana, No. 38 Utah and No. 63 Winthrop.

"Having the entire singles lineup recognized just shows how we competed during the season and that we were capable of competing against ranked teams as often as we did," said Mercer. "We definitely grew as a unit as the season progressed and while it will be tough to see Karli (Timko) go, we still have a good unit heading into next season."

Primarily holding down the No. 1 spot, Oppinger and Turhan posted a 7-10 record for Marshall and a 0-1 mark in the No. 2 position for an overall mark of 7-11 this season. Pomyatinskaya and Timko were tough to top as the pair posted an overall record of 14-2, with a 13-2 mark in the No. 2 position.

First Team
Alexandra Starkova, LA Tech
Tiffany William, Middle Tennessee
Nikol Hristova, Old Dominion
Kseniya Bardabush, North Texas
Anastasiya Shestakova, North Texas
Natalie Beazant, Rice
Dominique Harmath, Rice
Katherine Ip, Rice
Liat Zimmermann, Rice
Klara Vyskocilova, Tulane
Marcelina Cichon, Tulsa
Renata Kuricova, Tulsa

Second Team
Macy Vonderschmidt, Charlotte
Dana Gray, East Carolina
Giulietta Boha, FIU
Carlotta Orlando, FIU
Jazmin Britos, LA Tech
Derya Turhan, Marshall
Kai Broomfield, Marshall
Dana Oppinger, Marshall

Kim Anicete, Rice
Alison Ho, Rice
Carolin Drescher, Southern Miss
Rongrong Leenabanchong, Tulsa
Maria Sant'Anna, Tulsa
Miriam Rosell Canudas, UTSA

Third Team
Anna Pomyatinskaya, Marshall
Karli Timko, Marshall
Rachael Morales, Marshall
Mahitha Dadireddy, Southern Miss
Lisa Norderer, Southern Miss
Alex Kitchen, Southern Miss
Pardis Kianoush, UAB
Rebeca Calvillo, UTEP
Davina Meza, UTEP
Jacobea Junger, UTSA
Isabelle Jonsson, UTSA

First Team
Kseniya Bardabush/Franziska Sprinkmeyer, NT
Natalie Beazant/Liat Zimmermann, Rice
Renata Kuricova/Marcelina Cichon, Tulsa

Second Team
Nikol Hristova/Melissa Esnal Olguin, Old Dominion
Dominique Harmath/Alison Ho, Rice
Katherine Ip/Solomiya Zinko, Rice

Third Team
Dana Oppinger/Derya Turhan, Marshall
Anna Pomyatinskaya/Karli Timko, Marshall
Jacobea Junger/Miriam Rosell Canudas, UTSA

Coach of the Year: Elizabeth Schmidt, Rice
Player of the Year: Klara Vyskocilova, Tulane
Freshman of the Year: Katherine Ip, Rice
Newcomer of the Year: Tiffany William, Middle Tennessee
Outstanding Singles Player of the Championship: Natalie Beazant, Rice
Outstanding Doubles Team of the Championship: Natalie Beazant/Liat Zimmermann, Rice