Derricott, Slay in Top Four at Conference USA Championships


Elaine Derricott

Elaine Derricott

May 15, 2014

Results

HOUSTON, Tx.-Marshall's Elaine Derricott (Richmond, Va.) won the 200 meter dash with a time of 25.01 seconds as part of the women's heptathlon Thursday evening at the Conference USA Outdoor Track and Field Championships, which is being held at Rice University.

The Marshall senior stands third in the overall competition with 3,149 points. UTEP's Jallycia Pearson (3,372) and Akria McSwain (3,154) of UAB stand first and second, respectively. Redshirt freshman Catika Slay (Douglasville, Ga.) is one spot behind Derricott with 2,993 points.

Derricott also placed second in the 100 meter hurdles (14.19 seconds) and shot put (12.60 meters) and tied for eighth in the high jump (1.49 meters).

Slay was tied for second in the high jump (1.64 meters), third overall in the 200 meter dash (25.24 seconds), fourth in the shot put (10.25 meters) and 10th in the 100 meter hurdles (15.33 seconds).

The event will end Friday when the long jump, javelin throw and 800 meter run will be contested, beginning at 4 p.m. ET/3 p.m. CT. The Herd will not compete in the hammer throw or 10,000 meter run Friday, but will be back in action Saturday, starting with the long jump, which starts at 4 p.m. ET/3 p.m. CT. The final day of action will begin Sunday at 5:40 p.m. ET/4:40 p.m. CT with the 4x100 meter relay.