Skip to main content Skip to footer

@HerdVolleyball Collects AVCA Team Academic Award Honors

July 25, 2017

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The Marshall volleyball team has earned the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Team Academic Award after maintaining a 3.50 cumulative team grade point average for the 2016-17 academic season.
“To have our program consistently earn and exceed the parameters to win this award it truly shows that student is the most important part of our student-athlete's experience,” head coach Mitch Jacobs said. “But our players aren't the only ones who get to celebrate this award. It starts with their desire to be students, but to have the great leadership of our Buck Harless Student Athlete program and the outstanding professors we have here at Marshall University makes this award special for everyone because it showcases so much that our great University represents.”
A record 822 teams received the recognition from the AVCA, breaking the previous year total of 764 to set an all-time high. The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.
The Thundering Herd was one of 145 NCAA Division I teams to be honored by the association. Marshall had 16 student-athletes named to the Conference USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll, and five received the C-USA Academic Medal. Allie Kellerman and Ally Kiekover were selected to the 2016 C-USA All-Academic Team, while Kiekover also received the C-USA Scholar Athlete Award.
Marshall was accompanied on the list by Conference USA members North Texas, Rice, UAB, UTEP and WKU.
For all the latest information about Marshall Volleyball, follow @HerdVolleyball on Twitter and Marshall University Volleyball on Facebook.
Marshall begins its 2017 season at the Austin Peay Tourney from Aug. 25-26. The Herd will compete against Missouri, Austin Peay and UMKC.