Herd Volleyball Earns Conference USA Honors

Nov. 15, 2006

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA announced its 2006 all-conference first and second teams and postseason award winners for volleyball on Wednesday, as selected by the conference's head coaches. Marshall University's Kelly-Anne Billingy earned the conference's top honor as C-USA Player of the Year.

Billingy leads the NCAA in kills per game at 6.53 overall and is registering a 6.69 per game clip in conference matches. The junior from Trincity, Trinidad was also named to the All-Conference USA first team. This is Billingy's second consecutive Player of the Year honor.

The Thundering Herd also placed three players on the conference's second team. Libero Maggie Arias (Indianapolis, Ind.), outside hitter Stephanie Cahill (Louisville, Ky.) and Uche Ndubisi (Indianapolis, Ind.) filled the Herd's other conference honorees.

"We had a very good year and a very good regular season," Marshall head coach Mitch Jacobs said. "It's great to see a majority of our starting lineup recognized by the coaches of our league."

The Herd will be awaiting the winner of the Houston/Rice match-up in the C-USA Volleyball Championship's quarterfinal round on Friday, Nov. 17. All of the Herd's action in Houston will be available on GameTracker at www.herdzone.com and can be heard live on Marshall's student radio station, 88.1 WMUL-FM, in the local area or online at www.marshall.edu/wmul.