Herd Volleyball Snares #4 Seed in Upcoming Conference USA Tournament


Marshall coach Mitch Jacobs

Marshall coach Mitch Jacobs

Nov. 17, 2013

Tourney Bracket

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.-The Marshall volleyball team has received a first-round bye in the upcoming Conference USA Tournament by securing the #4 seed in this week's playoff at Alumni Memorial Gym in Murfreesboro, Tn.

The Herd finished the regular season at 15-15 overall and 8-6 in league play. It will face the winner of #5 North Texas (16-14, 8-6 Conference USA) and #12 Florida Atlantic (13-16, 4-10) at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT) on Friday. That first-round NT-FAU match will be played Thursday at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT). Marshall won 3-1 at North Texas on Oct. 13 and secured a 3-2 win at Florida Atlantic on Sept. 27.

The three other first-round matches are as follows: #8 Southern Miss vs. #9 UTEP (1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT), #6 Middle Tennessee vs. #11 FIU (6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT) and #7 UAB vs. #10 Rice (8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT).

UTSA claimed the top spot, while Tulane is seeded second and Tulsa is third.

Friday's quarterfinal times are also 1 p.m., 3 p.m., 6 p.m. and 8 p.m. Eastern. Saturday's semifinal matches will be played at 4 and 6 p.m. Eastern, while Sunday's championship match will be played at 2 p.m. Eastern.

"I'm proud of the way our team has handled the adversity," said Marshall coach Mitch Jacobs. "Early season injuries and a late stumble really put us to the test, but winning Friday night (over Middle Tennessee) has given us another breath and the bye. It's going to be a very tough and exciting tournament. I can't wait to get our team back on the court."

The first-round, quarterfinal and semifinal matches will be carried on the C-USA Digital Network, while the championship match will be televised on CBS Sports Network.


 

 

All-session passes are $20, while single-session adult passes are $10, as are all-session youth passes. Single-session youth passes are $5, while single-session student passes are free of charge.