Skip to main content Skip to footer

Three Selected to the C-USA All-Conference Teams

Sacha Byous-McConnell with the big kill.

Nov. 19, 2013

IRVING, Texas – Senior outside hitter Laura Der (Clarksville, Ind.) has been named to the All-Conference USA first team while senior middle blocker Sacha-Byous-McConnell (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.) and junior setter Sammie Bane (Brownstown, Ind.) earned spots on the All-Conference second team, the league office announced, on Tuesday.

“They all had tremendous years and it is wonderful to see the other coaches in the league vote them onto the all-conference teams,” said coach Mitch Jacobs. “Any personal accolades, especially when you have multiple ones on your team are a direct result with the success the team had during the season.” 

This marks the second consecutive season that Der has been named to the C-USA first team. Der has been the top offensive power for the Thundering Herd the past two seasons. She's currently averaging the 12th most kills at 3.42 per set and 20th most digs with 3.08 in the league. She has tallied 315 kills and 283 digs on the season to lead the Herd.

For Byous-McConnell and Bane it is their first time making it on the all-conference team. Byous-McConnell ranks second in the league with a .377 hitting efficiency and is second on the team with 2.67 kills and 3.03 points.

Bane has been among the league's top setter the last three seasons. She stands at No. 4 in the league with a 10.56 assists per set average and has been named C-USA Setter of the Week twice this season and four times in her career. She has collected 1,246 assists on the season.

“I’m very proud of these three, but even more so that our team is a team and it isn’t just these three that have led us to our four seed for the conference season, said Jacobs. “We have a libero that has been aced less than any other in the league per passing attempts and a few freshmen and sophomores that have contributed significantly.”



Their two 11-member all-conference squads and one seven member all-freshman team were selected via a vote of the league's 15 head coaches. Tulane, Tulsa and UAB top the charts with four honorees each.